PDA

View Full Version : Internet problem


jademcquade
12-02-2006, 02:51 PM
Hi guys.

When I type in an address into the address bar in Internet Explorer, like www.google.com (http://www.google.com) for instance, I am being redirected to a different site. Usually some general search page with links to porn etc.

I tried using FireFox but it happens in this browser too. Also I think this could be related. I use AdAware to scan my computer for ads but when it gets to searching my 'Shared Folder' on the C Drive, the program always freezes and doesn't respond. This led me to believe that there was a virus or something in my Shared folder. So I tried to go into this folder manually but explorer.exe crashes every time I try this.

I have McAfee firewall and virus scanner, but the program doesn't find any viruses so I think it must be something else.

Does anyone have any ideas on this?

Srek
12-02-2006, 03:09 PM
Chances are that you have fallen victim to a trojan or virus.
You should boot in save mode and use an up to date virus scanner.
If you can lay your hands on a boot CD with an up to date virus scanner this would be best.
Cheers
Björn

imashination
12-02-2006, 07:16 PM
This is vaguely from memory, but check your Hosts file in the windows folder, this will have a list of redirections for all web browsers.

lots
12-03-2006, 01:56 PM
Imash is right about the host file. It can be found in system32/ i believe... This file lets you assign addresses for specific names. Its quite handy in a unix environment (and something MS apparently took the idea from :))

Unfortunately many viruses take advantage of the host file on windows and you end up with more problems than its probably worth...

The ideal situation would be a boot CD with a virus scanner and adware removal. I've come across a few viruses that stick around even in safe mode..

jademcquade
12-03-2006, 05:55 PM
I booted my PC in safe mode then done a check with AdAware for ads. When I rebooted in normal mode the problem seems to be fixed. Brilliant!

Thanks guys.

singularity2006
12-03-2006, 06:11 PM
Depending on your router, you might be able to do keyword blocking. If you are able to do so, I would suggest using it similar to the way the "hosts" file is used to block junk. My block list is configured to block mostly ad servers but can be used to block adware. Or if you want to use just a hosts file, there's tons of them online. Just do a search for "hosts block list." The nice thing about the router is that you can use portions of words instead of full addresses, which is what is required by the hosts file.

CGTalk Moderation
12-03-2006, 06:11 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.