PDA

View Full Version : simple group selection question

markw7
11-29-2006, 01:36 AM
Once I select a plane, I'm using the following to aim the plane at the camera...

select -af perp ;
aimConstraint -offset 0 1.55 0 -weight 1 -aimVector 1 0 0 -upVector 0 1 0 -worldUpType "vector" -worldUpVector 0 1 0;

... but the plane is one of 8 planes that need to be aimed. I'd like to select the group node above all 8.

it's gotta be easy, yeah? i'm a noob.

grantimus
11-29-2006, 06:45 AM
That kind of thing is very easy. I'll walk you through it.

global proc aimSelectedAtCamera() {//first we'll declare the procedure that contains the code to aim our selection at the camera
//here we are declaring a string array that will contain our selection
//we are assigning the filterExpand command to the $objs variable
//the filterExpand command filters the current selection for whatever type of object or element we want
//since we are using the -sm 12 flag filterExpand returns all of the polygonal objects we have selected
//anything that is a part of the selection that is not a polygonal object will be ignored
//this way you can select the planes you want to point at the camera, or a group containing the planes, or whatever
//it doesn't matter as long as your planes are part of the current selection
string $objs[] = `filterExpand -sm 12`;
//here we are assigning the current panel to a variable called $activePanel
//the reason I'm doing this will become clear in a little bit
string $activePanel = `getPanel -withFocus`;
//I'm declaring a string called $activeCamera
string $activeCamera;
//this chunk of code makes sure that something is actually selected
//if nothing is selected you'll get an error message
if(size($objs) == 0)
error("YOU HAVE NO POLYGONAL OBJECTS SELECTED");
//we could assign an aimConstraint to the objects in our selection and have them point to an object called persp but this could cause problems
//you might want to have the selection point to a camera other than persp