PDA

View Full Version : 6 15 second long animations in 2 weeks. Crits Please :)

Hodaararar
11-24-2006, 09:06 AM
Hi guys,

I will be posting 6 animations here from my university assignment, please keep in mind im new to this. We had to create two alterd bipeds and animate them in a convincing way. All 6 animations done in 2 weeks. Well heres my first animation! :)

http://s4.photobucket.com/albums/y122/seanink/?action=view&current=FLINNANI1.flv

Crits and comments very much welcome
Sean

OneSharpMarble
11-24-2006, 06:07 PM
Wait, you have to do 6 animations, each 15 seconds long, all due in 2 weeks? Thats a minute and a half of full body animation in 2 weeks.

You know you wont be able to use any of it on your reel right? If this is an assignment from the teacher I would be taking another look at his/her credentials.

Hodaararar
11-24-2006, 07:48 PM
Hey Marble, yeah this is just to get us into animating, kind of breaking us in, nothing as serious as show reel quality, and we actually got the assignment beginning of November technically, but a couple of weeks was spent on character development and sketches, concept art etc.

And yeah i know, 2 weeks is gonna kill me, especially as all this is brand new to me. Well all i can do is try right? :)

So besides that, how is the animation. I know its not going to be anything pro and far from it but would like to know if its ok for a total beginner.

moose2k1
11-24-2006, 07:49 PM
Ya I agree with above. Thats a crazy amount of work for even a seasoned pro to do, let alone a newbie!

I looked at your clip, and I dont' wanna get into tid bits, but overall, your timing is off. It almost looks llike its playing in SLOW MOTION. Try to work on the timing for your poses, then we can talk about the principles of animation in your work.

Hodaararar
11-24-2006, 07:53 PM