PDA

View Full Version : Gnomon DVD Question

srproductions
11-22-2006, 12:29 AM
Hey All!

I am very new to matte painting and I am considering purchasing Matte Painting Production Techniques from The Gnomon Workshop. Now here are my questions to people who have done the DVD:

Do you work at a high enough resoulution to render the final scene in 1080i HD?

What all applications do you need to complete the tutorial?

Do you have to have good modelling skills? I am NOT a modeller what so ever, and if they require you to model something, do they also include the final model for people like me who are HORIBLE at modelling?

Is it the kind of training where they tell you EXACTLY how to do it, or the kind where you kind of just follow along trying to do something like what he's showing you?

Thanks in advance for your help!

srproductions
11-22-2006, 01:33 PM
BUMP

I really would like to know these things before I buy it.

Matellis
11-22-2006, 05:48 PM
Hey Mark

I havent made any dvds but I do know that they usually include the working files so you can pretty much copy what they are doing. But what I like to do is just watch them and have pen and paper , so i can write down just how they use the tools and what kind of effect each can give me. I like doing it that way because i find for myself it helps to be creative with the tools they are using.

Also if you are planning on getting into matte painting you will want to be practicing your painting skills , photography and even 3d modeling. Those skills are very important i think more than ever now with HD and more companies are doing matte paintings that have some 3d movement. It really wouldnt hurt to even learn basic 3d modeling. I know it helps me out when trying to get a good perspective, composition and concepts.

Cheers

srproductions
11-22-2006, 06:18 PM
OK. But.......