PDA

View Full Version : rpf's normal maps


Reality3D
02-11-2003, 02:36 AM
Is there a way to use this maps to "reiluminate" the footage?

(like at harry potter II:

"John came up with the idea where we could use PRMan 10’s secondary outputs to give us surface normal data per pixel. While this data doesn’t look like anything to the human eye, you can feed it into a plug-in in Shake (compositing package). What it does is that it tells Shake which direction every single point of the visible object is facing. John then wrote a set of plug-ins in Shake called “Norman” which allows you to completely re-light objects in Shake. You can create lights and move them around exactly as you would in 3D, but the results would be in near real-time.")

Thanks!

Chris
02-11-2003, 02:44 AM
Your meant to be able, I dunno how well it works.

Try rendering out a simple scene, Check every option in the RPF properties (to be safe) make sure your object properties have 'render occluded' or whatever, turn on all the 3d depth, shading & shadow options in Combustion (the ones in the RPF layer as well as the composite?) Then try moving around your light, it may work...

Reality3D
02-11-2003, 12:36 PM
Ah, yes it seems to work!(checking at layer level 3d depth and 3d shading i forgot to check). Thanks!

dmeyer
02-11-2003, 01:02 PM
If only they'd build this into Maya... :sad:

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 10:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.