PDA

View Full Version : lightwave basics.

element412
03-22-2002, 07:07 AM
hi , im new to lightwave and switching form 3dmax to lightwave is hard.

can someone tell me where r all the shortcuts and how to configure them.... i cant undo and redo! and lots of other things.
im talking more about the modeler.

im trying to make some simple modeling tutorials (box-modeling and sub-d) but i only find one good , its a troll modeling at 3dcafe ... did anyone have some other basics tutorials?

pls answer me.
sry to bother you.
forgot my english.
i think thats all :)
element

Chewey
03-22-2002, 07:38 AM
edit menu layout and edit keyboard shortcuts would be a good place to start. You can probably locate those without reading a single page of the manual.

Galo
03-22-2002, 02:07 PM
Hi, man i did the same as you i learned 3d in 3dsmax and passed trough to lightwave...and i dont regred it at all.....

To learn lightwave you have to get used to the shortcuts, and you cant use Edges, i find edges unnececary for 3d sinds i use LW :)

It goes like this,

u = undo
shift u = redo
l = load
s = save
shift F = Extrude
shift H is scale
h = scale one direction
t = move
y = rotate

Press p for properties for the item that you have selected.....if you have the camera selected you get the camera propertys if you have a light selected you get those propertys with "p"

Press n for numeric values, if you want to box model for example press shift X then "n" a default box of 500 x 500 mm will apear now...

Try to select 2 polys connected to eachother and try the bandsaw with divide active :)
see its easy....