PDA

View Full Version : Lighting change when restarting Command Line Render


orko60
11-16-2006, 05:00 AM
Hey everyone. I have a question. I have a scene that I am rendering in mental ray through the command line. Sometimes I stop it (because it basically takes over my computer), and when I restart at the frame where it stopped, the lighting is slightly different. I am using "default lighting" and final gather as lighting. Any ideas why this is happening? Is it the final gather restarting? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

-Zack

acidream
11-19-2006, 10:39 PM
We have this problem when we use "default lighting" and render on our farm. Each packet has slightly different lighting. Maya always positions the default light a certain direction at the start of the render. The solution is to not use default lighting. Just create a single directional light, and it will be pretty much the same.

orko60
11-19-2006, 10:50 PM
Thanks for the reply! I will try that!

-Zack

CGTalk Moderation
11-19-2006, 10:50 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.