PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with arrays and matrices.

ljilekor
11-15-2006, 09:53 AM
Doh!!! Should have posted this in the MEL section of the forum... Sorry 4 this.

I'm used to code in various languages but I'm kinda new to MEL. I have trouble dealing with its limitations on arrays.

I need to create a custom posing system. Therefore I need to store transformations together with my selected objects.

Ok, so I store the objects selection in a basic string array.

string $selectionList[] = `ls -sl`;

I'd like to store the transformatiom matrix (float[16]) and have an extra index refering to the index of the according selected object. This way it's easy to refer to an objects transform matrix : $selectionList[INDEX] matix is float[INDEX][16];

I can't use float arrays with multiple dimensions. :banghead: A workaround : MEL supports matrices with a specified size so... I query for the number of selected objects and I know how many elements are in a float 'matrix' that I'll query later with the xform -q -m. (there are 16)
So I know the size of the two dimensions in the matrix

int $cnt = size ($selectionList);
matrix $storedTransforms[$cnt][16];

int $i;
for ($i=0 ; $i<$cnt ; ++$i){
$storedTransforms[$i][] = `xform -q -m -os $selectionList[$i]`;
}

MEL doesn't accept a variable in the matrix' declaration :
matrix $storedTransforms[$cnt][16];

This doesn't work either :
$storedTransforms[$i][] = `xform -q -m -os $selectionList[$i]`;
or
$storedTransforms[$i] = `xform -q -m -os $selectionList[$i]`;

Hope everything's clear enough.

How can I make this stuff work properly????

ljilekor
11-15-2006, 01:46 PM
Ok, maybe I was looking too far... I found another solution.

Nevermind but the fact remains. MEL is quite a b#*t$ to store custom data.

tbaypaul
11-17-2006, 01:48 AM