PDA

View Full Version : funny animation

beeru
11-11-2006, 09:57 AM
This is my demo reel from sometimes ago, hope you guys enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lX0E9INP49I

shy-guy
11-12-2006, 07:21 AM
Umm... well, okey... first things first: you know how to use a 3d program; in case you did all of the work for that short, you know the basics of modeling, texturing, lighting, rigging , skinning and animation. That´s cool man, not everyone can say that, including me, im just learning how to do all of that stuff, now that im making my first animated short.

So.. with that being said, here are my crits:

- You have to find an interesting visual style you like, and polish it until it looks good (to you and to the people you trust the most) ; i dont mean making hiperrealistic stuff, or complicated or ultra detailed models... i mean, something visually appealing.
It doesn´t matter if it is all black and white, or if the characters are made with cubes or whatever... it has to grab the viewers attention.

This is my personal opinion though, and opinions are subject to personal tastes, but i really didn´t like the visual aspect of your short; you have a very cartoony albeit somewhat boring landscape, but your characters aren´t that cartoony.... it looks kinda off.

- Study color theory; that helps a lot in the way of graving viewers attention; selecting the textures and colors you´ll use for telling your story should not be a random process; im not saying that you did it randomly, it´s just that the color palette and textures of the short it´s all over the place... you have extremely saturaded colors, a few greys, planar colors, degraded colors, some cartoony textures, some more real textures, etc.

- Your characters doesn´t seem to belong to the same universe.... they´re too different from each other, modeling and texturing wise. And there´s definitely room for improvement with the characters design.