PDA

View Full Version : First walkcycle

dougie0047
11-11-2006, 09:47 AM
Hi guys,

this is the very first walkcycle of any kind that I've done, and I'm open for comments and critique. Aside from a couple of minor things it looks ok to me, but perhaps you who are more experienced can see a number of issues that I can't?

Also, if you have some general tips and trick on how to create good walkcycles that you can share, I would greatly appreciate it.

Here's the link: http://www.speedyshare.com/161321237.html

Cheers!

Dougie

jpa
11-11-2006, 03:28 PM
Hey Dougie,

I am still a newbie as well so all I can give you is a pure observational crit. One thing I am noticing is that the when your character moves his legs forward they kind of snap forward at the knee. I am not sure how to fix this other than maybe not having the knee jet out so far when he walks forward. I am sure other members will have better advice as far as how to make it more fluid. Doesn't look too bad to me for a first walk, keep going and hopefully I'll have my first walk up there soon as well.

jpa
-

dougie0047
11-11-2006, 08:48 PM
Hey Dougie,

I am still a newbie as well so all I can give you is a pure observational crit. One thing I am noticing is that the when your character moves his legs forward they kind of snap forward at the knee. I am not sure how to fix this other than maybe not having the knee jet out so far when he walks forward. I am sure other members will have better advice as far as how to make it more fluid. Doesn't look too bad to me for a first walk, keep going and hopefully I'll have my first walk up there soon as well.

jpa
-

Thanks for your crit jpa! Yes I've noticed the thing about the knees as well. I kind of wanted the character to kind of "stamp" his feet down just a little bit, and therefore I brought the feet a bit further forward, so he could put his feet straight down onto the ground, and I believe it has something to do with that.