PDA

View Full Version : Alfa chanel or something....

VSLX
02-09-2003, 01:11 AM
Hello guys,
I'm wondering how to make an animation, export it in any movie format and to have "alfa" chanel.
I don't know how to call this actually, but I'm sure you know what I mean. When I render stills I use alfa chanel because on that way I don't have to mask/delete the background or whatever I don't need in the image, when composing in Photoshop.

In this case I want to know how to implement the same technique just with animation, instead of stills.

I'm using After Effects and Combustion... and I'm new in this...

Thanx in advance...

Tommi
02-09-2003, 10:37 AM
After Effects is able to load, view and use image sequences (a bunch of still images in any format like TGA, TIFF, PNG...). Most of these formats support the alpha channel.

VSLX
02-10-2003, 06:21 PM
Ok then... what's the best for use?
I use TIFF usually...

Is it ok?

Tommi
02-10-2003, 07:28 PM
TIFF is fine, as well as TGA. Both are RLE compressed. RLE means "Run Length Encoded", that's a technique which causes no quality loss like JPG/PNG or GIF. So never ever use JPG for your animations!

gmask
02-10-2003, 07:58 PM
Originally posted by VSLX

I'm wondering how to make an animation, export it in any movie format and to have "alfa" chanel.

BTW it's alpha channel not "alfa" channel. You can also refer to this channel as a matte.

Tiff format is fine.

Quicktime "animation" and "none/uncompressed" codecs can be 32bit and thus contain alpha channel. I think uncompressed AVI's can contain alpha channel information.

Kaiser_Sose
02-10-2003, 09:58 PM
Originally posted by gmask

Quicktiem "animation"

Quicktime not Quicktiem :p

gmask
02-10-2003, 10:28 PM
Originally posted by Kaiser_Sose
Quicktime not Quicktiem :p

There's a difference between typos and spelling errors I make both often but I know that an alpha channel has nothing to do with "our gang".. IE Alfalfa channels :wavey:

Kaiser_Sose
02-10-2003, 10:39 PM