PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question - In game design, can a poly only have three edges, or can it be any?

mitchelhunt
11-03-2006, 06:24 AM
i know its a really newbie question, but im just starting out...

JeffPerryman
11-03-2006, 07:26 AM
Well the term "poly" varies somewhat from software to software, and shop to shop, but for the most part the terms are interchangeable.

I work in 3DS max for example and in there, there are “faces” the triangles you talk of and “Polys” which are quads or two triangles together.

To answer your question, however, at rendertime, in a game, everything is converted into Tri’s as far as I know. There are different methods out there that work on strips of tri’s or in some cases just count the number of verts in a model. But if I understand what you are asking, yes a "poly" in the game world, is only 3 sides.

I hope that helps

doylle
11-03-2006, 08:05 AM
This is a very interesting question. Because, alot of people are asking about polycount when they probably mean triangle count. (if we're talking game design).

i did a little test in 3dsMax. drew a spline with 8 vertexes, and converted it to editable poly.

http://img81.imageshack.us/img81/6617/polyfy0.jpg

http://img157.imageshack.us/img157/7605/trisgz8.jpg

so, basicly what does max do, Whatever lies within a number of edges, is counted as 1 poly. Doesn't matter how many edges there are. If you count triangles, then max hypothetically connects vertexes so that all the polys have exactly 3 edges, and counts again.

and of course, the triangle count is what matters in game design (as far as my knowledge goes)

NikLG
11-03-2006, 10:31 AM