PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Needing Help with 3D Photo-stitching from digital photographs

remindmetogo
10-31-2006, 08:22 PM
Hello, my name is Brian and I am a high school student and an amateur photographer.

This weekend I rented the Matrix Revolutions from my library, and I was interested by some computer algorithms I heard about in the special features documentaries, in which an extremely realistic and complete 3D environment is created using a collection of still photographs taken from various vantage points. In the documentary, it mentioned the crew of the Matrix taking a large amount of photographs of downtown Sydney Australia to reconstruct surfaces for use in the simulated Matrix.

Being an amateur photographer, I am very interested in this technology, I would love to be able to recreate a 3D scenery; I already am accustomed to taking numerous photographs at many different vantage points.