PDA

View Full Version : Modeling Rock surfaces

Akiasu
10-31-2006, 03:46 AM
Hi everyone!

I have just recently joined the forums, and I am finding it very useful and it is loaded with a ton of information. I am currently a student in a 3D animation school in New Zealand, and I have encountered something that I am not sure how to approach. We are currently doing a character model and I chose to do a very detailed troll, with rocky skin.

This is where the problem is I have no idea how to include the rocky surface texture, and I am afraid it may ruin my topology if I go ahead and do some myself. Anyone have any hints or tutorials that can guide me in this darkess hour?

Neox
10-31-2006, 07:25 AM
And why do you need to model this? Sculpting would be the better approach i think, i made good experiences with Claytools and Mudbox on creating rocky surfaces. maybe a handpainted displacementmap would do the same job, but modelling it? I don't see the sense in that.

Arcanox
10-31-2006, 08:50 AM
Neox is correct that it's best to use a displacment map in this scenario. In terms of the rocky surfaces, I would really only model the most characteristic and prominent rocks on the actual character and leave the majority to a displacement map to work out.

Now if you don't have access to Zbrush, Mudbox, or Claytools, the process is going to be a bit more tricky. You can still generate displacement maps, take a look at these tutorials for a nudge in the right direction:

http://www.drone.org/tutorials/displacement_maps.html
http://www.poopinmymouth.com/tutorial/normal_workflow.htm

The tutorial for 3ds max is for normal maps, but it's just as easy as changing your render element to hieghtmap instead of normal.