PDA

View Full Version : patch modeling


raffael3d
03-20-2002, 11:29 PM
I created curves and wanted to loft them with the patch tool, but it says that the curves not combined correctly. How can I know what is correctly? It's not written in the manual. How does it look correctly? I thought certain points needs to have the same points...

Cman
03-21-2002, 03:06 AM
Hi again,
I do no know the exact formula for getting a perfect patch, but I think you have the idea correct.
Sorry I am of no help here...

Chewey
03-21-2002, 04:21 AM
Try going through this spline modeling tutorial.

http://www.lwg3d.org/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum&f=17

Rabid pitbull
03-22-2002, 08:05 PM
Great link chewey! The best spline tute i've seen. :applause:

Lewis3D
03-24-2002, 05:21 AM
Originally posted by Rabid pitbull
Great link chewey! The best spline tute i've seen. :applause:

Actually you get error message like: "curves don't cross correctly" :). That's because you didn't weld/merged points on crossing point. Where each line crosing other line they must have one shared point. So they are then connected. And you can patch only 3 or 4 splines at once, no more no less than that.

BTW thanks for nice words about my tutorial :). Every day I'am more and more surprised how many pople know and reccomend my tutorial :D.

Jimzip
10-13-2002, 01:34 PM
I've never experienced that problem, but from what I've heard, there are many goodtutorials out there that explain this type of dilemma.
Jimzip

isnowboard
10-13-2002, 04:12 PM
Or try this spline tut:

http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/spline_tutorial.mov

It's from the SplineGod site found here:
http://www.splinegod.com/onlinetraining.htm

This should tell you everything you need pretty quick.

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 02:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.