PDA

View Full Version : need help on my MEL script

deebster
10-25-2006, 06:56 AM
hi. I'm new to MEL scripting and I need help with my script. Its a small script that creates reference planes for modelsheets. The problem I'm having is that I dont know how to apply the lambert shaders to the objects.

proc newMat(string $nmName){
eval("shadingNode -asShader lambert -name \"" + $nmName + "Mat\"");
eval("nurbsPlane -p 0 0 0 -ax 0 1 0 -w 8 -lr 1 -d 3 -u 1 -v 1 -ch 1 - name \"" + $nmName + "Ref\"");
};

string $refName[3] = {"front", "side", "back"};

int $i;
for ($i = size($refName); $i > 0; $i--) {
newMat($refName[$i-1]);
}

setAttr "frontRef.rotateX" 90;
setAttr "frontRef.translateZ" -25;
setAttr "sideRef.rotateZ" 90;
setAttr "sideRef.translateX" -25;
setAttr "backRef.rotateX" -90;
setAttr "backRef.translateZ" 25;

sparaig
10-26-2006, 01:52 AM
hi. I'm new to MEL scripting and I need help with my script. Its a small script that creates reference planes for modelsheets. The problem I'm having is that I dont know how to apply the lambert shaders to the objects.

Not surprising since it is relatively complicated.

Here's how to hook a texture file to a lambert shader and then hook THAT to a material. Derived from the MEL FAQ which I created my own cache of since it appears to be defunct.

Note you must first create a shading group and work with that. This code is lifted out of a set of procedures that takes a selection of MRI brain scans (450ish of them total) and makes each image into a lambert texture which is placed on a polygon plane that can be spaced properly and used as a reference image for drawing a brain.

global proc string createSliceTexture(string $imageName)
{
string $lambert = `shadingNode -asShader lambert`;
string $lambertSG = $lambert + "SG";
sets -renderable true -noSurfaceShader true -empty -name $lambertSG;
connectAttr -f ($lambert+".outColor") ($lambertSG+".surfaceShader");

// Make a file texture.
//
string $fileTex = `shadingNode -asTexture file`;