PDA

View Full Version : My very own cel-shaded egotrip ("showreel")

zSpaceAstronaut
10-20-2006, 07:21 PM
Hi everyone! Im a self-tought swedish animator who's been sitting all by myself since january, experimenting with the anime-look, some new rigging ideas and hair dynamics instead of taking on new jobs. It all ended up as a presentation of myself...I'm not really that fascinated by my own person, I just thought I might as well package it as some kind of showreel/demo for getting work. It's 2.5 min, 13.5 Megs. Want to take a look? If you like it...Im looking for work, now! (Preferably in the Stockholm area...?)

http://www.christianpaulsson.com/showreel_still.jpg

http://www.christianpaulsson.com/html/christian_paulsson_showreel_201.html

revolutionzen
10-21-2006, 01:52 AM
its very simple yet very cool concept....i was smiling the whole time..why i dont know...lol...i just enojed your reel

som3d59
10-21-2006, 10:01 AM
sorry..I can't watch it. The quicktime just have question mark. :shrug:

mimo8
10-21-2006, 04:15 PM
hi christian,

I watched your reel two times because I felt attracted by the personal enthusiasm that you put in your project. Also the unique approach to present yourself, ads a personal flavour to your presentation.

still there are some major critiques that I see in it.
hopefully you shared your reel in here to get a frank feedback.

ok, here we go.
first of all I think you should not call it an animation reel.
Its more a 3D-gerealist reel, showin your skills the whole workflow of 3D and also compositing process.

then there is your main character, robolady.
she brings that cold and distant, a bit mystical "ghost in the shell" narator voice feeling.
good athmosphere in the begining. but then it gets long.
she is just too cool and static. with other words she is not appealing enough to carry the emotion through the whole flic ... damn hard task you tried there.