PDA

View Full Version : Manipulating the Timecode

MrTinkertrain
10-20-2006, 02:56 AM
Hi!

I'm pretty new in the fields of compositing, and I am playing around with After Effects, and I have one question, how can I manipulate the numbers that show in the timecode to show whatever I want? to make this a little more clear, what I need is to put the timecode in lets say the 12 min of a movie clip, but I don't want it to show that time, for example I want it to show 20:03:00 (and start the count from there).

Well, thanks in advance and see you around

JP

JohnnyRandom
10-20-2006, 03:39 AM
Create a new text layer.

under the "source text" add the expression:

timeToTimecode(t = time +1200.00+ thisComp.displayStartTime, timecodeBase = 30, isDuration = false)

This is a standard global expression with the addition of 1200.00 (represents seconds - .00 represents 100ths of seconds - IE .50 = 15 frames) which would equate to 20 minutes, change the number between the plus signs to adjust your start time.

Mylenium
10-20-2006, 05:27 AM
Hi!

I'm pretty new in the fields of compositing, and I am playing around with After Effects, and I have one question, how can I manipulate the numbers that show in the timecode to show whatever I want? to make this a little more clear, what I need is to put the timecode in lets say the 12 min of a movie clip, but I don't want it to show that time, for example I want it to show 20:03:00 (and start the count from there).

Well, thanks in advance and see you around

JP

In addition to what JohnnyRandom suggested, you can adjust the start timcode of each composition individually, which in your case may be sufficient without needing to add an extra helper layer just for that.

Mylenium

MrTinkertrain
10-20-2006, 01:10 PM
Thanks guys! I'll try this as soon as I get home.

MrTinkertrain
10-29-2006, 10:10 PM