PDA

View Full Version : Slowdown and problems with export

spoondamage
10-18-2006, 08:24 PM
I'm new to MB and am using the trial version to see if it's something I would like to purchase. I'm having problems with the program being really slow. I have a fast computer with no other programs running and it seems way too slow. The char I imported has around 6k poly count. Is the polycount too high? I've also been through all the tutorials I could find and used the help menus and can't figure out how to export to bring the animation information into 3ds max. I select the root of the skeleton and go to File> and there is no export option that appears. The character I brought into MB from Max was rigged using Character Studio. Any help would be appreciated.

skater363636
10-18-2006, 09:43 PM
hey to export the animation is easy. You just save the trial and then open it in max. I don't know if Max read FBX cause I'm a maya user. The problem with the slowdown is I'm not sure. I think it is prolly caused by low video memory because when I use motionbuilder on my desktop I have no problems what so ever but when I use it on my laptop my playback is really slow. Other than the hardware the only differences of the two machines is one is running 64 bit but both computers have 64 bit processers. Don't know if any of this helps.

spoondamage
10-18-2006, 10:56 PM
Thanks skater, I tried saving it out and then opening the file in max and it wouldn't open. The help files tell me to go into character controls and go into the file menu and save it out from there but the file button is grayed out so I can't open it up. The help files also say I have to have MB Pro inorder to save it out. So I guess I can't test it completely without having a real copy of the program. Not sure.

xcomb
10-27-2006, 06:25 AM