PDA

View Full Version : Wanna buy XSI

rago
10-18-2006, 01:37 PM
Hi there,
I'm recently thinking of buying XSI, but I would like some help to get to final decision.
I'm mainly an industrial designer, so I would need a package that is able to model precisely, ( without having to hand out mathematic geometry though), and make nice presentations of my products.
And in my spare time I do like to make animations, character and others, so at least I could benefit of XSI animation tools.
Can XSI model precisely, I mean with math parameters?
Plus does someone of you know if it is possible to find the XSI mantra film?

Thanx ,

Rago.

JDex
10-18-2006, 02:06 PM
Can XSI model precisely, I mean with math parameters?

Yes... but you have to understand how it is done. There is no choosable measurement system, it's all one type of unit... this type of unit can stand for whatever you want. If the goal is to present or showcase industrial models, it's great... if you intend to have the models used to build the components, it's not the right tool.

NRG-Alpha
10-18-2006, 05:54 PM
If you are looking into an industrial modeller made for things like products , and it needs to be precise, I would recommend Rhino 3D ( http://www.rhino3d.com/ )

However, this is not for characters and animation and whatnot.. so you have to weight what is more important to you.. If the modelling is just to showcase a reasonably accurate look of the design you are after, as well as things like character modelling and animation in your spare time, then look no further.. XSI rocks the boat for that. But for strictly mathematically correct component modelling, I would go with Rhino.

Cheers,

NRG

BabeBro
10-18-2006, 06:32 PM
Would this help with the mesurement issue? http://www.joellongie.com/xsilength/

mocaw
10-18-2006, 06:59 PM