PDA

View Full Version : Previz skills?

Grgeon
10-16-2006, 04:00 AM
Hey Brian,

Hope it's ok to post this here in the EI forum. I've been familiar with your name since my old electricimage 2.9 days.

I currently work as an animator at scea. I'm looking to possibly attain a future position at a place like Persistance of Vision, Third Floor, Halon Entertainment, Pixel Liberation Front, Proof or even a big studio house doing previz.

Although my primary duties is animation and motion editing, i've done a bit of previz for some game cinematics. I'm wondering though what are some other skills i should try to attain to get a better footing in the previz biz.

The skills i'm looking to get into are:
compositing/shake
Digital Set Design modeling/texturing
Dynamics- particles- explosions, smoke, etc...
lighting/rendering
photogammetry
matte painting

What do you think? are some of these important things to learn to get into a fulltime previz position?

Thanks for being involved in the community, it's really great to get input by industry pros and not just wonder in the dark without guidance.

God Bless,
George

Vizfizz
10-16-2006, 07:22 AM
Hello George..

Well.. as you can imagine I have a lot I can say on this particular subject. Judging from your demo reels, I would say that you have sufficient experience to make the transition into previs. The biggest thing that you would need to focus on is your cinematic language skills. But lets take a look at your list:

1. Compositing/Shake - Minor requirement. Helpful, but most of the compositing skills you'll need for previs can be accomplished with After Effects. Nearly 98% of everything done in previs is accomplished in camera. Compositing is only required in specific situations.