PDA

View Full Version : cgSkin and Max8 (hips)

Gazzalodi
10-13-2006, 09:22 PM
I'm on day 11 of the 15 day trial of cgSkin and still have not successfully completed skinning of any model other than the arm in the tutorial.

I've been using Max since v3 (I am using cgSkin with v8) and have a pretty good understanding of the basics but not much of the advanced (i.e. most of the stuff covered on these boards). I have used Max to model mostly Battletech oriented machines for about 5 years and have only been attempting to skin for the past few months. I am not a professional cg person, but my knowledge of Max is enough to generate extra cash that the program pays for itself (mostly through doing simple 3d logo work for folks to cheap to pay a pro).

The models I am using are the Joan of Arc tutorial model I made (around 30K verts) and several different Poser 6 meshes imported as .obj's (around 33k verts).

When using cgSkin I use it as in the tutorial. I snapshot my model, then removed the poly's from around the joints, detach the remaining polys as new objects and link them to their associated bones of a biped the apply the cgSkin modifier to the original mesh and use the parted out polys as the control points. I have had very good success with the spine, forearm/bicep, thigh/calf, calf/foot, forearm/hand.. etc. The trouble I have is with the thigh/pelvis and a small bit bicep/clavical (though the b/c is mostly due to me trying to move them in an unnatural manner).