PDA

View Full Version : What is the DEFINITION of topology in 3D models?

Black_Fox
10-11-2006, 09:01 PM
Hello there. I am currently a student working on a research on topology on humanoid models. A lot of people suggested me to look into this forum for usefull information, since this place appears to be a haven for 3D experts.

So this is it. I am asking your opinion for your technical definition of what topology is.
This is a two-scale question >>>

1) Topology on genaral 3D models.

2) Topology on 3D humanoid models.

If any usefull information come up that can be used in my research, CGtalks forum and its posters will be noted down and take credit for it in my presentation. :deal:

So guys, what is your personal view on the subject?

gringer
10-12-2006, 03:10 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe topology is this:

The flow and organisation of edges on a given 3D model.

I don't believe the definition of topology changes relative to the model, instead only the way in which the topology is arranged.

Cheers :D

MasonDoran
10-12-2006, 08:25 AM
do a search in the help files of any 3d app on:

Quad (4 sided polys)
Triangles
Edge Loops
Non-Planar polys
Non-manifold geometry
5 sided polygons

basically for organic mesh you will want all quad using edge loops to define muscle and bone of the mesh. Edge loops function as defining the lines/curves/creases of an organic mesh. Also, it is important that all polygons have a similar density and size in the mesh for an efficient and accurate subdivision and deformation.

Hard edged modelling does not require such a strict modeling workflow but can still take advantage of edgeloops to help create a flow to the mesh. Because it is often not necessary to subdivide a mesh entirely, polygons can be disproportionate in size and local subdivision of the mesh is more effiecient. Also, if the mesh is not deformed in any way, this grants even more freedom to modelling the mesh in terms of a nonquad surface.

newellteapot