PDA

View Full Version : How can we customize menu names in Maya 8


darkjedi1929
10-11-2006, 01:58 PM
This has to be one of the silliest queries posted. :argh:

My team is on a switchover cycle to Maya 8 and one thing my modellers keep requesting is to change the name of the "Mesh" and "Edit Mesh" menu to "Polygons" and "Edit Polygons". Reason? They find the term mesh too much like Max and therefore, irritating. :scream: Go figure.

Anyway any ideas on how to do this?

cpan
10-11-2006, 03:04 PM
open the initMainMenuBar.res.mel (its in X:\Program Files\Alias\Maya8.0\scripts\startup) in an text editor and replace the "Edit Mesh" and "Mesh" strings to "Edit Polygons" and "Polygons".

That's it ;)


Tho, they should better get used to the Mesh term, thats how it will be called years to come, hehe :)
I for one like it better than polygons now lol, unlike i did when i first saw maya8 imo :D

darkjedi1929
10-12-2006, 04:33 AM
Hey thanks Yashu, will look into it.

Personally, Mesh or Polygon it refers to the same damn thing, doesn't it? :D

Anyway, this way my modelers will be happy...heheh

CGTalk Moderation
10-12-2006, 04:33 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.