PDA

View Full Version : My movieclips cant be made into buttons.


[msf]
02-03-2003, 04:14 PM
First off I have looked through the help alot if anyone knows a specific area in the help section that comes with the program let me know. I am using Macromedia Flash MX.

I am trying to make my movieclips into buttons. I remember this used to be simple just set the instance as a button but it seems now you have to change the whole symbol. My actionscript to make the buttons fade looks like so for each menu item.

onClipEvent (enterFrame) {
if (this.hitTest(_root._xmouse, _root._ymouse, true)) {
this.nextFrame();
} else {
this.prevFrame();
}
}

I thought I could just add onRelease but its not working any help here?

Thanks in Advance.
MSF

[msf]
02-03-2003, 05:07 PM
well I have since discovered the onPress event for movie clips but how the heck to I get it to gotoplay on the maintimeline with this?
Anyone?

SAVE MEEEE

[msf]
02-03-2003, 05:27 PM
Figured it out. Nevermind

(DARKELEMENT)
02-09-2003, 09:09 PM
mind sharing how you do it I would like to do the same.thx :D

fig
02-09-2003, 11:22 PM
just add your on(release) code to the movieclip without changing anything else to get it to act as a button. to move on the timeline your code would just be something like

_root.gotoAndPlay(frame#);

chris

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 09:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.