PDA

View Full Version : Jamo - Character - Warrior Model


JaMo
10-09-2006, 11:09 PM
Here is the latest model im working on for my portfolio. Im not sure how high res next gen characters can go(i read somewhere RE4 had 8 - 10k characters) but im going to end up pushing around 10k after I add all the ornamental stuff and hair. right now he sits at 8,668. Feel free to critique.:)





http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i316/3dphotoman/warrior.jpg


http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i316/3dphotoman/warrior2.jpg



Here is the sketch I did for my own refrence. I've changed a few things but when im done he should be fairly close to this concept. im planning on modeling a horse also for this character.:D

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i316/3dphotoman/warrior_sketch.gif

benclark
10-10-2006, 09:03 AM
I like your concept

The main thing I noticed is the width of the shoulders, they seem very narrow in comparison to the hips. In your concept sketch the character has a V shaped torso but in the model the torso doesnt taper to the waist at all. Also the face of your character looks a lot more feminine than your concept. I think it might be the jawline or maybe it just need the hair???

Other than that the modeling looks great, I realise it is still a WIP but I think you could save quit a few polys in the boots (especially around the feet) but thats being really picky

should be cool to see this one evolve, keep posting please:)

psychojohno
10-10-2006, 12:51 PM
looks good but i dont think the head matches the style of the body. At the moment it looks far too round and child like. I also think the ears stick out too far. The jaw on your concept looks very square and sharp so i think you should do the same to the model. I think maybe he would look better also with a straight nose not one that curves up at the end if you get what i mean :shrug:

but the body looks perfect to me maybe there are a few too many polys in the boots but keep up the good work and keep posting :thumbsup:

L3p3rô
10-11-2006, 11:10 AM
nose is too small

Psionic Design
10-12-2006, 10:15 AM
Looks good so far (apart from above crits) and will be interesting to see the textures go on there!!

JaMo
10-15-2006, 11:24 PM
heres an update: he is sitting at 9,106 tris right now. after i get the hair on him he should be sitting at 10k. i may even be able to add a few more lesser details into the mesh if i come up under the limit.


anyway ive made a few more minor changes from the sketch liek smaller horns on the skull and changed the way the cape was. i think ive fixed most of the crits so far but if ive missed something please let me know.:)


http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i316/3dphotoman/warrior_4.jpg
ive been UV mapping him so i should be texturing him fairly soon!:bounce:

JaMo
01-03-2007, 02:53 AM
OK. ive been busy from changing jobs and the holidays so im just now getting time to finish this guy up.

I have 2 problems first I know Maya has problems sorting alpha so im wondering is there a way around this or at least whats the best way to present renders?(btw the plane is underneath)

My other problem is my spec maps not showing correctly in realtime. I want the armor to be shiny but things like his clothes I want little to no spec. I painted my map but in the viewport its not showing up. I thought I had done something like this before and it was fine so maybe its my video drivers?


thanks in advance for any help or comments.
http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i316/3dphotoman/trans_problems.jpg

JaMo
01-05-2007, 01:54 AM
No one can help on seeing the spec map in the view ports or the alpha tras problem?

psychojohno
01-05-2007, 07:12 AM
i dont think you can display spec in the viewport of maya can you? What version are you using?

bugo
01-05-2007, 01:43 PM
You will only be able to see the specular in the high viewport mode, but you can do a render of it! hehe

You can also use a cgfx normal map shader and just put a small blue texture on the normal mask to get the z flat, and use the specular you want to see the spec mask you need in the viewport :thumbsup: I know this is kinda dificult, but I use it all the time.

JaMo
01-05-2007, 03:14 PM
So if im making a character to be used in a game and I want to make sure what is going to be seen in the game all i need to do is just hardware render it? The reason I ask is I get 3 very different images from the veiwport, hardware render, and software render.

Should I do a render of each to show what I mean or was that clear?

JaMo
01-05-2007, 09:20 PM
I have another question while im at it. When you paint textures is it ok to set up lights for the final character in a game or do you use the NO LIGHTS option or just shading? I know about prelighting but is it ok for characters?

From the games I play it seems most have at least shading so im guessing you dont cut off all the lights and shading unless its for a specific reason?

http://i75.photobucket.com/albums/i316/3dphotoman/warrior_face.jpg

SylvanMist
01-06-2007, 02:52 AM
Generally the lighting in a game is different than that in your 3d program...plus the view, angle, size you're looking at the model. I always keep all the lights turned off, so it's just the flat colors i'm seeing. That way I can see the texture much easier and do shading in the texture itself. Maybe it's different for others, but that always works the best for me.

Your model is looking pretty good so far!

CGTalk Moderation
01-06-2007, 02:52 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.