PDA

View Full Version : My very first model!

rinny8
10-08-2006, 09:51 PM
Here's the story: I've had no previous experience with 3D since a few days ago, but have always had a major interest in it. I decided to try it out, but was scared that it would take forever for me to learn. I bought a book on Maya from the bookstore which came with the free learning version and decided to try my hand at modeling something. I chose something low-poly figuring it would be an easy starting point. 3 days later of teaching myself the layout, here is the result. I'm actually REALLY suprised I was able to accomplish this much in just 3 days. I've gotten modeling down pretty well with just a few issues where my seams split open and leave ugly holes in the model (inner thigh of the legs and pelvis). I've finished the modeling except the hair and have starting texturing it, then will move on to rigging. I have no idea if I'm doing it in the right order so I would appreciate any help and suggestions on what I've done so far. I'm sure theres quite a lot to improve. thanks!

There we go I figured out how to attach the images. Heres the view from the front and back. Still trying to figure out how to change the background color to white. (And ignore the watermarks. They're very annoying but its the price of using a free learning version i guess.)

tin-tin
10-08-2006, 11:56 PM
I can't see the image

its good your learning 3d, i also learnt my stuff from books and the internet.

rinny8
10-09-2006, 12:37 AM
I can't seem to insert the images. When I click the insert image button it doesn't do anything but scroll me to the top of the page...

Guy In Rubber Suit
10-09-2006, 07:20 AM
For your first try at 3D, you seem to be off to a very good start. The more you do it, the more you'll learn some various techniques to make it easier for you and to become more aware of your mesh flow.

Keep going at it man!

dude5487
10-09-2006, 07:52 AM
Keep it up. Looking good!

benclark
10-09-2006, 09:28 AM