PDA

View Full Version : Polyflow Critique

Inchoatos
10-07-2006, 11:40 PM
Hello everyone,

I modelled this character last night to test basic polyflow for a body. I'm currently an animation student and I am trying to practice getting my polyflow to deform nicely. Let me know what you think: my main concern is the joints. The polycount is very low I know but that isn't an issue as it is merely a basic framework. Thanks for you crits, they are much appreciated!

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/3187/lowpolymale1ho9.jpg

killarai
10-08-2006, 12:41 AM
I don't know if I'm giving you a corny crit here, but it does help a whole lot.

Understand that you're actually modeling a human, and not a molded odd statue.

If you're modeling for deformity, and realistic movements, then the poly flow will come to you if you study the human anatomy.

Model muscles as they are, not the shapes the muscles make outside of the skin, otherwise you'll just get confused and forget what goes where, and what connects to what, and why.

The best crit I can really give you is... Study the human anatomy, and design a poly flow out of the real stature of the human body.

Poly flow is pretty difficult to do if you don't know much about what you're really designing.

I'm confusing, I know... But hey, I tried.

=]

Inchoatos
10-08-2006, 04:00 AM
Actually, that helps quite a bit. I used to draw the polyflow on faces in PS before I would use it as a reference for modelling and it really helped in that instance. So I suppose I should start doin that here :) Thanks for the advice!

Vladislav-Ivanov
10-08-2006, 05:57 AM
Spiderman?

Looks good so far, and again it all depends on how close you'd be able to see you character on the screen for a 3rd person shooter looks good (I presume you're making spiderman or smth like an action hero thing).