PDA

View Full Version : nvidia reveals G80 liquid-cooled card specs


maX_Andrews
10-07-2006, 12:37 AM
http://dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=4441

86GBps theoretial throughput, 400W power usage, 128 unified shaders, 768MB GDDR3, 38 billion texels/second fillrate.

It's like having your own jet engine.

RockinAkin
10-07-2006, 06:08 AM
400W power usage
Holy crap... There'll be rolling power outages across the country as well. :eek:

nemoo
10-07-2006, 10:18 AM
400W power usage
yay, back to stone age!

mech7
10-07-2006, 11:00 AM
omg 400 watt that is insane sure allot of power not really worth it i wish manufacturers should focus a little more on saving energy especially in this day an age

mustique
10-07-2006, 11:28 AM
400 Watt... Probably made on 80 nm process, power consumption won't fall much even if Nvidia manages to scale down to 65 nm in the future.

IMHO this marks the end of the GPU as we know it. :sad:

PyRoT
10-07-2006, 12:42 PM
They really should have teh card have its own power plug. I also think card manufacturers should start thinking about having external devices or something. That would at least enable them to scale up fater as we could have a computer case dedicated specifically to our graphics and physics.

Come to think of it, that would be a great idea! Your computer could esaily be a portable laptop but at home, when you want to play games, you plug in the powerrful 3dcard.

Tomek

undoz
10-07-2006, 04:03 PM
Remember voodoo 5 6000? That card required an external power supply :), but it never seen the light.

http://home.tiscali.be/silvio/voodoo/images/v5-6000-ppackbig.jpg

ThomasMahler
10-07-2006, 07:24 PM
They really should have teh card have its own power plug. I also think card manufacturers should start thinking about having external devices or something. That would at least enable them to scale up fater as we could have a computer case dedicated specifically to our graphics and physics.

Come to think of it, that would be a great idea! Your computer could esaily be a portable laptop but at home, when you want to play games, you plug in the powerrful 3dcard.

Tomek

I love that idea. The question is though if there's a port that'd be fast enough for that kind of stuff.

enygma
10-07-2006, 09:05 PM
They really should have teh card have its own power plug. I also think card manufacturers should start thinking about having external devices or something. That would at least enable them to scale up fater as we could have a computer case dedicated specifically to our graphics and physics.
http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadroplex.html

That sound what you're looking for?

DMJ
10-07-2006, 10:53 PM
Odd question about this massive powerslurping graphical beast, but...

What if they switched to modifying the mobile range of graphic cards instead of focussing on the desktop versions?

It made sense when intel switched their development from the P4 to the P4Mobile that was a lot more economic when it came to energy use. Mightbe an example for nvidia to look into?

PyRoT
10-08-2006, 05:35 AM
I would think taht external cards would need a small PCI port card inside your desktop PC to connect to. That Nvidia product is cool but its way expensive and I am not sure if it would be useful for games. Additionally, it doesn't suppoer directx10 i dont think or the shadermodel4.

krazyrokr
10-08-2006, 07:04 AM
i dont even want to know how much this thing is going to cost. gotta love how its releasing the same week as ps3 and wii.

Lyr
10-08-2006, 05:38 PM
I would think taht external cards would need a small PCI port card inside your desktop PC to connect to. That Nvidia product is cool but its way expensive and I am not sure if it would be useful for games. Additionally, it doesn't suppoer directx10 i dont think or the shadermodel4.

From the article: The new NVIDIA graphics architecture will be fully compatible with Microsoft’s upcoming DirectX 10 API with support for shader model 4.0, and represents the company's 8th generation GPU in the GeForce family.

Where are you getting the information that it does NOT support DX10 or shader model 4.0?

PyRoT
10-08-2006, 06:15 PM
From the article:

Where are you getting the information that it does NOT support DX10 or shader model 4.0?

I was referring to the nvidia quadros in external boxes.

http://www.nvidia.com/page/quadroplex.html

mlmiller1983
10-09-2006, 03:52 AM
Holy Crap! Thats one power hungry monster. Who needs 768MB of video memory. Can you say "overkill".

enygma
10-09-2006, 05:26 AM
I would think taht external cards would need a small PCI port card inside your desktop PC to connect to. That Nvidia product is cool but its way expensive and I am not sure if it would be useful for games. Additionally, it doesn't suppoer directx10 i dont think or the shadermodel4.
You would think that given the fact it has 2 QuadroFX 5500 cards in them, it would support those modes.

Then again, this product is designed for performance visualizations of massive datasets rather than gaming.

Kabab
10-09-2006, 06:00 AM
Holy Crap! Thats one power hungry monster. Who needs 768MB of video memory. Can you say "overkill".
Doom3 struggled with 512mb and thats not such a new game anymore...

You can NEVER have enough memory...

PyRoT
10-09-2006, 08:03 AM
Perhaps these new cards are designed to enable us to play the games that are out with full graphics smoothly. I mean, Oblivion doesn't seem to be able to run smoothly on anything taht is out now if you max out the quality. It's ridiculous IMO, how you can buy a state of the art PC and still be obsolete in one sense.

Tomek

pgp_protector
10-09-2006, 07:07 PM
That's a massive card, any idea on the cost ?
http://www.blogsmithmedia.com/www.engadget.com/media/2006/10/nvidia-geforce-8800-hc.jpg

pixelmonk
10-09-2006, 07:13 PM
great time to own a PC.. that thing is hot!

pgp_protector
10-09-2006, 11:12 PM
great time to own a PC.. that thing is hot!

Nice thing about it.

You can turn down your heater in winter :D

jewalker
10-10-2006, 05:14 PM
I just read the article that mentions the power usage and it recommends that you have a 400W power supply, not that the card itself uses 400W. They recommend that two cards running in SLI mode use an 800W power supply. That's still a lot of power.

CGTalk Moderation
10-10-2006, 05:14 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.