PDA

View Full Version : Student Animation Reel - Nick Smalley

Nick Smalley
10-05-2006, 05:14 AM
Hey guys,

Just finished my student animation reel at VFS. Crits and comments welcome.

----- Right click "save as" (35.3mb quicktime) (http://www.dutchtilt.com/nickimages/web_reel_hi.mov) -----

Thanks
http://www.dutchtilt.com/nickimages/burger.jpg

http://www.dutchtilt.com/nickimages/clever.jpg

sachin3d
10-05-2006, 09:08 AM
nice work man, only one comment check the penetrations in ur animation. keep it up..

bernoccoli
10-05-2006, 10:31 AM
your characters need a little bit of weight and sometimes they're slightly wavy.. good spacing but rigid faces and shoulders.

keep your work up, man.

ciao!

Nick Smalley
10-05-2006, 04:58 PM
Hey guys, thanks for the comments,

Sachin3d - Yeah the crashing annoyed me too, but I wanted to concentrate more on the movement of a quadruped cause it's my first time and i wanted a bit of freedom.

Ephixx - Yeah i've tried to address the weight issues in my animations, i thought I had but clearly not! I'll keep working on that.

Thanks again,

More crits very welcome

yuta_vfx
10-05-2006, 10:20 PM
hey man looks good, I like the dialog. That's pretty funny. Nice work.

here is some crits for you-----
I thought the tail of beast was little too much when he is walkng. Maybe you could reduce that. And I liked your gymnastic one but after he lands on the ground, I felt follow through was little off.

Anyway, I enjoyed your reel. Nice work man !!

keep doing

JBoskma
10-06-2006, 06:58 AM
Hey Nick, great job! Impressive amount of finished animation on your reel. Think the beast sequence is working better now and it sure is my favorite part on your demoreel. Good luck on the jobhunt!

KOKE
10-07-2006, 01:02 PM
Great work there Nick. :thumbsup:

My favorite piece is the airplane dialogue.

Congratulations.

JK.

:D

alanf
10-16-2006, 01:58 AM