PDA

View Full Version : Can't Render PArray


raw19896
10-04-2006, 09:07 PM
I have a Parray setup coming off of a rocket engine and the array drops after about 80 frames for no apparent reason. I have the array set to last something along 300 frames and I can't figure out what's happening to it.

superhypersam
10-04-2006, 09:47 PM
Ah, you have found one of max's many strange quirks.

Thier is a upper limit to the amount of parts parray will emit (100k I think)
something to do with memory management issues that are no longer thier.

maybe they will fix by max 10, heh probly not.

though dont complain to much

I think it was up until max 5 they had 10 thou part limit.

You can try using a much smaller amount of parts, and render multiple passes

bah... just use particle flow

cheers

raw19896
10-04-2006, 10:00 PM
I looked into it a little further it has turned out to be that when viewed from the "bottom" there is no particles rendered, but when I view it from the "top" the particles render...weird, eh?

CGTalk Moderation
10-04-2006, 10:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.