PDA

View Full Version : My props & textures

madmenno
10-04-2006, 05:40 PM
Hi,

I bought a book that shouls aid me with my texturing skills. So i created this thread to show my props and textures and ask questions related to my textures. I also like critics and pointers on any aspect of the model or texture. I'm using 3D Max to model and photoshop to texture.

I start with this fantasy style treasure chest, counting 40 tri's and 3 256*256 maps for difuse, specular and normalmap.

I'm rather new to normal mapping, and i'm wondering if i'm doing this correct. I use the photoshop .dds/normal map plug in. And use that on the black and white image i posted here. Then i put the normall map in the bump map slot in max. First, it does not show up in viewport (i did put on direct 3d driver with directx 9.0). With a render it does do the job but not looking correct.

Later!

Vladislav-Ivanov
10-04-2006, 05:48 PM
Nice and clean.
One thing only the chest lid/cover doesnt look good , u wont find a chest with bended timber like that, I'd suggest u to rotate the UV coordinates.

www.vladislav-ivanov.com (http://www.vladislav-ivanov.com)

madmenno
10-04-2006, 07:35 PM
Yeah i noticed to late. Now i have to recreate the wood layer under it. Problem is, i don't know my color settings i used so it's hard to match up the other wood color. I do try to fix it up.

Anyway, i did a floor texture of 512*512, it's tiled 4 times over the plane. Also made a normall and specular map for it but it won't show somehow :(. Do i need to put my normall map in another slot in max?

madmenno
10-04-2006, 10:07 PM
I did some rather simple ones befor i go to bed :D.

Gamedev
10-04-2006, 11:07 PM
Check out my signature for a inrto to normal mapping video. It will show you how to get your normal to display in viewport as well as creating one from a high resolution model.