PDA

View Full Version : basic question about masks


sepehr
02-01-2003, 07:59 PM
Hi
How is it possible to use something like a gray image (alpha) as mask?
Thank you.
Sepehr

kraal
02-01-2003, 10:27 PM
i think you need to explain what you are trying to acheive....but manily any selection can be a mask....

VestanPance
02-02-2003, 12:03 AM
OK...this is how I do it.

Open your greyscale image. Select All > Copy. Go to the channel pallet and make a new channel. Select your new channel by clicking on it. Then Select All > Paste. Then hold down ctrl and click the channel (This loads the selection). Go back to your layer pallet and select the layer you wnat to use the mask on. Now hit the "Quick Mask" button on the bottom of that pallet (It looks like a circle i a box). Hope that is what you were lookin gfor.

SP

Corn Dog
02-02-2003, 12:40 AM
I'm confused.. If you get it to work show us how and what you did :) pretty please.

VestanPance
02-02-2003, 01:22 AM
1. Open your image you want to be masked

eg. > http://www.sean-paul.com/tute/image.jpg

2. Open your image that you want to USE as your mask.

eg. > http://www.sean-paul.com/tute/mask.jpg

3. Drag and drop your "Mask" greyscale image into your image to be masked. (now close the "mask" image)

<< At this point you should just have a document with
just 2 layers; Your image and your mask >>

eg. > http://www.sean-paul.com/tute/1.gif

4. Select the "Mask" layer.
5. Select all (ctrl + a)
6. Copy (crtl + c)
7. Click on the "channel" tab (It should be next to the "Paths" tab)
8. Click on the little arrow up to the right.
9. Select "new Channel"

eg. > http://www.sean-paul.com/tute/2.gif

10. Name it something clever. (Alpha 1 is the default)
11. Click "OK"
12. Click on the new channel.
(Hit ctrl + a to select all)
13. Hit ctrl + v (This should paste the mask into the channel)

eg. > http://www.sean-paul.com/tute/3.gif

14. Holding down the [ctrl] button click the layer.
15. Go back to your "layer" tab.
16. Select your image (not the mask) layer.
17. Now hit the "Quick Mask" button on the bottom of that pallet (It looks like a circle i a box)

http://www.sean-paul.com/tute/4.gif

18. Get rid of your "Mask" image.

(added a new layer underneath)
eg. > http://www.sean-paul.com/tute/5.gif

donedone
http://www.sean-paul.com/tute/done.jpg

If you still have questions I will try to make it clear.

SP

tchook
02-02-2003, 10:19 AM
perfectly clear
nice comp....:beer:

sepehr
02-02-2003, 11:52 AM
Thank you very much VestanPance.
I'm gonna try it...
Best regards
Sepehr

VestanPance
02-03-2003, 04:15 AM
Hey guys, glad to help in any way I can!

erikals
02-04-2003, 09:51 AM
I do almost the same as Vestan Pance, but I skip points 7-15. I follow 16 and 17, but then go to "channels" and paste the image. (but the channel layer must be set to visible) I think it's faster.

Another "trick"
Look at the image attached. If you hold the mouse-pointer in between two layers, then press the Alt-key you can use the lower layer (in this case, layer 2) as a mask. The bad thing about this is that you can't mask a greyscale image. It will only cut out the shapes that use transparency:hmm: (You can use text as a mask as well, which can make cool effects)


Erik

VestanPance
02-04-2003, 10:02 AM
Wow. That's great. Cuts over half out of my "long way". Thanks for the tip!

I knew about the (Clipping I think) mask. I use it for text a lot. Works great fo rthat.

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 08:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.