PDA

View Full Version : Turbine Bike


XilA
10-02-2006, 06:52 AM
Hello folks, im coverting a highpoly bike i did a while ago to a low poly version...my goal is between 3.5-4k. really new to low poly so im looking for tips, suggestions, references, crits :P right now its 3.6k so there is room for more detail...just not sure how or what yet.

the original concept is in my portfolio section if you want to look at it. thanks for checking it out lemme know what you think. be harsh.
http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f89/Xila17/gi.jpg

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f89/Xila17/wire.jpg
wire
http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f89/Xila17/w3.jpg

ojko
10-02-2006, 07:44 AM
You're in the right area when it comes to the polycount. Most current gen vehicles tend to be roughly 4000-5000 tri's. As for the mesh itself, it looks good. I can't see any major problems with it. :)

XilA
10-02-2006, 08:00 AM
ty ojko, btw your hellboy wip owns

Stinkfoot
10-02-2006, 12:38 PM
Cool, it looks like something from Jak & Daxter...

Ghostscape
10-02-2006, 03:20 PM
The design is cool but it is obvious that you're taking your highpoly and removing edges, you have a lot of edges that are not defining the structure left in. You also have some strange quad areas that are obviously left over from just using your low poly cage.

The methods behind high and low poly modelling are different, and you're going to do better to remake a lot of the geometry for low poly instead of trying to make one model serve both high and low poly needs.

http://img116.imageshack.us/img116/3522/wiregk4.jpg

Gamedev
10-02-2006, 08:02 PM
its a great start. Reminds me a lot of the pod races in star wars. Poly flow isnt bad but as stated you have quite a few redundant rings. Also, your handles for the bike are a bit strange, or rather not very ergonomic for the rider :) I'd say overall really think about the rider - where he will sit, hands, feet, etc cause I wouldn't want to drive this thing in its current state. Toss a biped in there for good measure.

XilA
10-02-2006, 11:05 PM
The design is cool but it is obvious that you're taking your highpoly and removing edges, you have a lot of edges that are not defining the structure left in. You also have some strange quad areas that are obviously left over from just using your low poly cage.

The methods behind high and low poly modelling are different, and you're going to do better to remake a lot of the geometry for low poly instead of trying to make one model serve both high and low poly needs.


hey thanks for feedback, the Red lines you have painted in, are you suggesting they be removed or re-routed? or both. thanks again

Gamedev- you are right...im going to take a look at the handle bars again. ty

Ghostscape
10-03-2006, 04:47 AM
The red lines need to either be moved so that they're actually affecting the shape, or they need to be removed.

Right now you've got all the detail of a 2k model with 4k triangles.

psychojohno
10-03-2006, 07:11 AM
I like it but on the shaded model to me it doesnt appear to have much definition i think you need to make some of the edges harder :)

XilA
10-03-2006, 10:51 AM
ok here is an update. Got rid of some redundancies in the mesh added some details and made some stronger edges. hope its getten there. still a few loops to take out once its a solid mesh (still mirrored so there is a line right down the center of model)

thanks for looken at it and everyones suggestions have been really helpful ty.
http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f89/Xila17/gi3.jpg

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f89/Xila17/w2.jpg

John-Bellamy
10-03-2006, 05:30 PM
this is looking great. good shape and form. has a lot of character in it. look forward to the textures. what direction will u be taking in texturing? cartoon/realistic mix of the two?

keep it up

tin-tin
10-03-2006, 11:36 PM
great model, good poly flow aswell, I would love to see some hard edges though.

Dylan Nagel
10-04-2006, 02:24 PM
Hey, looks great! I love the flow in there.

Are you planning to use it in any game or engine or so? If not, maybe you should consider to do so... if you build an environment too I'll import it in Quest3D and create a simple racing sim for you! :)

XilA
10-05-2006, 09:18 PM
ugg so i lost power for a day and i had to baby sit for 2 days as well...so hopefully i can update soon.

CGTalk Moderation
10-05-2006, 09:18 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.