PDA

View Full Version : Lens Blur - Help Please


alshakno
09-30-2006, 09:55 PM
I `m trying to blur an object with lens blur but edges comes sharp!
i wanted blured edges too!
sorry if my question is too beginner!
but i search a lot and found nothing.

Thanks

Arney
10-01-2006, 03:00 AM
Is the object on a seperate layer, or on the same layer as background?

Arney
10-01-2006, 03:01 AM
Is the object on a seperate layer, or on the same layer as the background?

BlueFlare
10-01-2006, 03:16 AM
Attach a screenshot of your layers palette (ALT + PrtScr / paste) please.

alshakno
10-01-2006, 05:15 AM
Is the object on a seperate layer, or on the same layer as the background?

Seperate layer friend.

alshakno
10-01-2006, 05:57 AM
Attach a screenshot of your layers palette (ALT + PrtScr / paste) please.

Here is an example:

http://img157.imageshack.us/img157/14/exampleif8.jpg

halo
10-01-2006, 01:45 PM
the problem is because the image is on a seperate layer.

alshakno
10-01-2006, 05:35 PM
the problem is because the image is on a seperate layer.

thanks
I need the layer to be seperated because i `m composing a 3dstill.
is there any solvation to do that?
and can i ask what is the problem with a seperated layer?

designerkan
10-02-2006, 01:47 PM
lens blur effects only the inside of the shapes, if you want to blur outsıde it you can use gaussian blur or motion blur or radial blur, try them.

gaussian blur will help you :)

vaXn8d
10-02-2006, 09:00 PM
Try applying a reveal-all layer mask to your layer and then blurring. I haven't tested this myself, it's just an idea.

alshakno
10-04-2006, 04:18 PM
lens blur effects only the inside of the shapes, if you want to blur outsıde it you can use gaussian blur or motion blur or radial blur, try them.

gaussian blur will help you :)

Thanks
i have used depth pass as the mask and then apply Gaussian blur so it will make something like DOF but there is no distance option.
this way as you said can be used but the better result will be by lens blur.
i want to know that why just inside?why lens blur cannot blur whole of it?

alshakno
10-04-2006, 04:20 PM
Try applying a reveal-all layer mask to your layer and then blurring. I haven't tested this myself, it's just an idea.

Thanks
can you explain more?
i cannot understand it :D

halo
10-04-2006, 06:27 PM
try using a layer mask to control the transparency :)

alshakno
10-04-2006, 06:33 PM
try using a layer mask to control the transparency :)

I try that,
No problem with gaussian blur but still the same problem with lens blur. :(
Thanks

halo
10-04-2006, 11:24 PM
the layer has to be complete behind the mask to work...then its a case of just blurring the mask as well. But it wont work if the data behind the mask has been removed i'm afraid.

It's an oversight. When stuck like this I used the blur brush.

alshakno
10-05-2006, 01:31 AM
Thanks Halo again
i found something last night
i don't know if it could solve my problem!
here is the link (http://www.dofpro.com/info.htm)

GL

alshakno
10-05-2006, 09:16 PM
the layer has to be complete behind the mask to work...then its a case of just blurring the mask as well. But it wont work if the data behind the mask has been removed i'm afraid.

It's an oversight. When stuck like this I used the blur brush.

you are very right!
there is no data outside to be belured!
is there any way to add some transparent data outside the object?
if Gaussian can do so Lens blur should can do that too!
i think this has a very simple soloution.
i can solve it on this project but i want to it solved for ever. :)

CGTalk Moderation
10-05-2006, 09:16 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.