PDA

View Full Version : Character Animation Speed

Kid-Mesh
09-29-2006, 09:22 PM
Currently considering purchasing XSI Foundation for character animation. I've searched the forums but couldnt find any definitive answers for what I'm looking for.

Basically, what I would like to know is how fast could one expect to get up to speed with animating in XSI especially if your already familar with working in other apps. My background is mainly Lightwave and Messiah:AM.

Right now I'm really comfortable doing organic modeling in Lightwave but would love to see if the ease of doing organic's translates well into XSI too.

Bonus Question: Can you access toon shading materials in foundation?

Thanks,

tuna
09-29-2006, 09:47 PM
I guess it depends on how fast you are at learning :shrug:. Foundation has all the toonshading stuff, yeah.

Tak Tak
09-29-2006, 09:51 PM
If you know basics how to animate there is no problem with XSI. Nothing at all. Animating with XSI is easy, fun and also fast! I know nothing about LW and Messiah, but if I compare to max, XSI is much better... for me of course.

And yes, you get toons with foundation.

toonafish
09-29-2006, 09:54 PM
Why don't you download the 30 day trail and give it a shot.

Kid-Mesh
09-29-2006, 09:59 PM
Hmmm....well I guess it was kinda an open ended question. More or less from what I've heard about XSI is that the learning curve is very steep. Messiah has some very advance and powerful tools built in. I wont go into them because it would be irrelevant if I couldnt say that x in Messiah is sort of like x in XSI.

I guess what I'm looking for is how fast can one get up to speed building custom rigs that have advanced features, facial setups etc. One would assume that if you have experience with IK, bones etc already then that of course is no brainer.

Then there is the transistion from coming from LW/Messiah to XSI. Again like I said, from what I've heard it's a steep learning curve. :shrug: