PDA

View Full Version : Bump issue - can't get it sharp and clean

bunnyld
09-29-2006, 04:08 PM
hey all

i'm new to xsi
making my self challenges and this days i'm learning about the lighting and materials of XSI

There is a strage problem when i'm add a bump to a texture on the floor
it looks like the original texture twice instade of Bump illusion
(what i did is to check the V next to BUMP on the color texture)

take a look

http://ramot-hefer.britannica-ks.com/users/www/565/s1.jpg

http://ramot-hefer.britannica-ks.com/users/www/565/s2.jpg

http://ramot-hefer.britannica-ks.com/users/www/565/s3.jpg

this next render I tried to use a separated BUMP map which gave me a similar low quality bump result: (used black and white image based on the original texture)

http://ramot-hefer.britannica-ks.com/users/www/565/s4.jpg

in this last render I play with the step of the bump. set ot higher then 0.001 as default, to 0.5 and it all go rong exept of some area i maked .. that came out very good

http://ramot-hefer.britannica-ks.com/users/www/565/s5.jpg

I am very confused ...
how can i get this bump work right?
in ather apps you can just add the bump texture and it works fine..
can it be a bug?

i use ver 4.0
Geforce 2 gts pro with latest drivers installed, win xp pro SP1 (32b)

thaks for reading .. and sorry for bad english

mocaw
09-29-2006, 06:20 PM
Setting up bump maps the "correct" way in XSI can be hard at first, but it has its benifits. Check the help and search the web for it. If you want what many other apps have try downloading this:

http://shaders.moederogall.com/zbump6.zip

Ben has several other great shaders you might want to check out as well.

Felipe
09-29-2006, 06:21 PM
Hi there,

Did you freeze the scale transformations? it should read 1,1,1 for x, y and z. This could be a problem when using bump.
When using an image as a bump, the step value should be 1/(size of image in pixels). For instance, if your image is 1024x1024, use 1/1024 for x, y and z.