PDA

View Full Version : 2 Ideas for making programers' life easier

Self-Designer
09-28-2006, 04:32 PM
I'm not a programer, yet I did try myself in that here and there and all that amount of text makes life so hard I got with 2 ideas I hope someone will take into consideration:

The developing environment that lets the programmer typing his lines, already recognizes the variety of text and paints it in the right colors for easier identification.

1. Why shouldn't such an environment enable hiding / showing notes? Sometimes I don't want to see the notes, so all the program gets much smaller and cleaner (when I know and remember the program very well).

2. What about collapsing and expanding bunchs of program-lines (bunches, I mean like in a function, if-then-else, for etc.? - when they start with { and finish with })? So you can collapse bunchs of program-lines that don't interest you and read all above and below of it in one time.

so, for all developing environments (if there's anyone here, after all it's a cg community...), here's my 5 cents.

playmesumch00ns
09-28-2006, 06:01 PM
This is already supported by most IDE's. It's called code folding. Not sure if most IDEs fold single-line comment blocks, but I'm pretty sure I've seen IDE's that fold c-style comments.

Self-Designer
09-28-2006, 06:40 PM
Nice to hear there's such stuff already out there, I'm just a bit frustrating after trying to work with flash action script, and remembering my frustration when I tried working with max script once.

Anyway, I sent similiar comment to autodesk and adobe regarding to their products, hopefuly they take those ideas into consideration.

As I said, I'm not a programer so I really don't know what is out there (ah... in the programing world, don't confuse me with the bubble boy! (Seinfeld joke :p ))

playmesumch00ns
09-29-2006, 09:49 AM
Well, action script and max script aren't really programming languages...