PDA

View Full Version : hard surface modeling question


konakus
09-28-2006, 10:07 AM
if i have the wall which model from basic cube and i want to drill a hole on that wall or make a round shape on that wall for example create the door that has the round arc shape on top ... how can i do that?? Do i have to concern about topology ?? or i just simply use bolean ??

i've seen many wip with their wireframe show up and that make me don't understand how to model in proper way ..cause i tend to make a quad or tri on hard surfave so in wireframe i should have many tris and quads but in some people wip ..their wireframe doesn't show tris or quad do they use bolean and clean up later ??? give me direction please


hope u guys understand what i'm talking


thanks

SamSed
09-28-2006, 10:46 AM
Something like this (sorry for the big picture , no time to edit)?

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i24/sam_cgs/holeTest.jpg

Sorry i don't have much time to explain ,so i made you a file you can play with ( a meshsmooth version and No meshsmooth version )
Suggest you to do a search for Dave Black's hard surface modeling tut .

konakus
09-28-2006, 10:58 AM
thanks for quick reply .. i'll check it out mate

CGTalk Moderation
09-28-2006, 10:58 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.