PDA

View Full Version : Ideal render settings inLightwave for optimization in Flash???


jm_0812
01-31-2003, 10:30 PM
Hey everybody,

I was wandering if anyone knows a good method for limiting the dynamic range in the renderer of Lightwave, for optimal bitmap tracing in Flash.....


I have used the UNREAL shader for line renderings, but I need a more toon look..

samartin
02-03-2003, 12:15 PM
maybe try super cel shader :-

I've attached settings which I would prob. use... 2 colour option, less complicated and does trace quite well...

wots this unreal shader ??? cos' I would love an outline shader that actually outlines just the whole object rather than parts overlapping, etc... if u get my meaning ???

WOW, 30k attachments...

jm_0812
02-03-2003, 01:52 PM
thanx...


those settings seem to work for what I am looking to do.....

and that Unreal shader plugin can be found at Flay.com and search the plugin database.


Jason

samartin
02-04-2003, 08:23 AM
Hi glad that helped,

I have now downloaded the UNREAL Extreme shader and cannot seem 2 get the line drawing 2 work, I was wondering if u could shed some light on setting this up ???

BTW. u could use the cel painter instead of using super cel shader...

jm_0812
02-04-2003, 03:46 PM
unfortunatly, I am at school now....but when I get home, I will set up a quick tutorial with my settings for you......

it seems to be the kitten's meow....for line renders....what is this other plugin you are talkin about...never heard of it.......if you would like, check out a tutorial that was written at lightwave3d.com.....


Later
jason

samartin
02-04-2003, 06:00 PM
I will check out that tut 2morrow (thanx 4 the tip) when I get back in2 work...

anyways the UNREAL Extreme shader gives u 4 options "cel painter", "cel painter classic", ermmm and another 2, 1 being the line drawing...

jm_0812
02-05-2003, 04:51 AM
ok here goes...it may be hard to follow, but bear with me and let me know if you don't get it or if the images are too low quality.....



1) you have to assign the shader to the surface, in the surface editor...I chose to give it no diffuse value...and fully transparent.

jm_0812
02-05-2003, 05:00 AM
2) you have to turn on the pixel filter...kinda like saslite...

jm_0812
02-05-2003, 05:04 AM
3) set the settings by doubleclicking on the pixel filter...I set them like this, but you should play with the settings to your desire.

jm_0812
02-05-2003, 05:06 AM
4) set the second tab of the filter settings "render" ...I set it like this, but once again play with the settings....but I think this tab is less forgiving to adjustments...

jm_0812
02-05-2003, 05:07 AM
and finnaly render it....the result I got looks like this.....I added a 100% diffuse version of the gears to the left, for comparison.....

jm_0812
02-05-2003, 05:09 AM
well I hope this helps...if you need more help...or if you already knew how to do this....just kick me...haha.....either post a reply, or send me a private message...


Later
Jason

samartin
02-05-2003, 07:48 AM
Hey thanx 4 that, have just quickly browsed thru' and found that I hadn't added the ToonTracer bit in the PIXEL FILTER section...

will play with that in a few hours and thanx again 4 the help...:thumbsup:

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.