PDA

View Full Version : modeling topology question


morphius-ms
09-26-2006, 05:48 AM
Ok... I've seen a few ways of modeling... my way of modeling is that everything is a single mesh, at least that is what I perfer... I have never really gotten into making a seperated model (atleast right this second)...

For the hardcore modeling challenge I was going to model a colt 45 or a desert eagle (both of which pulled up porn in research but that is another story, but then again what doesn't now and days... right?)... neway... I couldn't figure out how I was going to model the desert eagle... nor did I figure out how to do a colt 45 but I decided to try the 45 neway and maybe I would be able to figure it out along the way... well I couldn't... So now that the challenge is over I still want to do one... but I have come into a snag... and I want to hear preferences especially if the gun is supposed to be set up to be animated...

When modeling the gun... it would be easier to model it in to seperate figures (I get that..) but is this a common practice in the industry? and then when it is going to be animated it would just be grouped correct? (that seems to be the most logical)... but then again when I am modeling this would I model each piece and make it actually work as the real gun? This is my dilema (and I understand that you cheat and do what ever it takes to get the job done but still...) (which isn't really a dilema [logically], I just wanted to ask it anyway)...

Now I modeled a cellphone and a gameboy micro for the challenge as well... would you suggest modeling the buttons seperate and only model the recess in the main phone topology? or would you make it one model? I made it all one skin but my poly count got really high and some of the buttons didn't make good impressions in the topology (meaning it had really ugly polygons)... especially on the cell phone... neither did it make a good topology....

does it have to be perfect squares?

and what are your thoughts on having triangles, does it really matter, especially on hard surfaces?

These are my questions (some of which I know are still beginner level and I really don't want to get into why I'm asking this now)...

Ian Coetzee
09-26-2006, 06:52 AM
If I understand you correctly, you are asking the following:

Do things always/mostly have to be the same element/model?

But not really model, you mean does it have to be connected through a polygon.

My opinion is no... it wastes polygons and can sometimes ruen mesh.



I hope I understood what you ment.

Example:

The buckle on this armour is not part of the breastplate but it is indeed part of the model, it saves polygons to not just extrude it from the breast plate

http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/4818/buckleci9.jpg

newellteapot
09-26-2006, 09:37 AM
there's no rule, just consider the poly count that you can afford and the look you wnat to achieve. For games it's a different story, they give you a set of rules, because the models have to work in an engine, and the engine has requirements.
Hope this helps

CGTalk Moderation
09-26-2006, 09:37 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.