PDA

View Full Version : Modeling Question: Will this load?


mitchelhunt
09-24-2006, 07:06 PM
Im not sure how to actually make a game yet, especially modeling. (Still waiting for a manual from amazon) but i was just wondering if things like this could even work in a game. Is this to detailed or too simple just for a fence? I want the game to actually be able to play without having to have a rediculous amount of memory on your computer, but i also want the game to be detailed.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v138/gnta53/fieldtest.png

skrubbles
09-24-2006, 07:20 PM
It can be either... depends on what the game is and on what platform. Looks fine to me though. But for a question like this you should really post some wireframes so we can tell you if you're wasting polys or not. I mean you could have 40k triangles in one wooden post for all I know.

mitchelhunt
09-24-2006, 08:22 PM
It can be either... depends on what the game is and on what platform. Looks fine to me though. But for a question like this you should really post some wireframes so we can tell you if you're wasting polys or not. I mean you could have 40k triangles in one wooden post for all I know.

good point :rolleyes: oh and it would be on the PC

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v138/gnta53/fieldtest2.png

TychoCelchuuu
09-24-2006, 08:53 PM
That would work in a game easily.

psychojohno
09-24-2006, 08:58 PM
I dont see no reason why it wouldnt work But depending on how close you will get to the fence and how important it is in game you could use a plane with an alpha map and texture

Vladislav-Ivanov
09-24-2006, 11:11 PM
Of coz it will work ha-ha. Only re-UVmap it again, at least those horizontal wood planks , use teh same texture just rotate it on 90 degrees.

CGTalk Moderation
09-24-2006, 11:11 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.