PDA

View Full Version : simple model, need help :(


criticalmechanism
09-23-2006, 10:16 PM
ok, here's the deal, I'm trying to model the shoulder part of the marine in the cinematic.
http://www.blizzplanet.com/coppermine/albums/ghost/blizzcon-2005-cinematic/533.jpg

Notice how it is all rounded. It was looking good and correct in the begining but when I was about to make holes and screws, I started to think about how my polyflow should go. I did a couple of different variations and I kept comming back to the one with I started. If I smooth it it looks bad, I don't want to go too much detail or use boleans on a smoothed 10 000 poly piece. I want to keep it in low poly so when I smooth it, my mesh looks nice and roundy just lik in the image. So I need some tips, if someone could draw their idea of the polyflow. I was thinking about doing it with surface tools, but since I'm doing everything in Edit Poly (Subd) I would really like some help on this one. Here is my mesh ;

http://sibenik-online.com/kike/modeling/rame.jpg

so, no complicated and dense mesh ;) I use 3dsmax for this.
Thanks

Skeram18
09-24-2006, 05:40 AM
Ok I'm a total newb to watching my poly flow and I'm trying to work on getting it good. I may completely wrong on this, or semi right. But I figured I offer help where I could, or if I can. So I notice you have long polys leading up to where your holes are, they may be causing a smoothing problem. Not sure, But maybe add a few more lines around the holes so it has more polys to smooth rather than big long ones.

gringer
09-28-2006, 08:17 AM
Hi there,

The problem may be your smoothing groups, however I don't think anyone will be able to tell unless you show us an image of the smoothed result. Perhaps upload one?

Cheers :D

SamSed
09-28-2006, 03:38 PM
Well obviously , with your model's case , smoothing groups won't do much for you (you need to add a lot of edge loop to kill any bad angles ), as you stated the final will be a smoothed mesh (meshsmooth or turbosmooth mod applied) here's the best flow i can think of without remodeling the entire model.
Don't know how accurate you want your model to be , but i noticied some difference in the thickness (see DarkBlue lines), maybe you should consider those too.

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i24/sam_cgs/rame.jpg

CGTalk Moderation
09-28-2006, 03:38 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.