PDA

View Full Version : Randomly duplicating/instanceing An Object


muzzle3d
09-19-2006, 09:09 AM
Hey guys
Could any one help me! I am pretty new to xsi and having trouble randomly Instancing an object round a scene! I have found out how to instance the objects, but how do you intance them over a plane in different positions? Do i have to use a script?? Could someone please help me out?
Thank you very much

GeneralLethal
09-19-2006, 03:02 PM
Pretty much all the parameters in XSI can be randomized. Duplicate or instance the object , then select all your duplicates or instances, and in the parameters you want randomized (x translation, for example), you write r(x,y) where x is the lowest possible value you want your x translation to be, and y the highest. You can also use l(x,y) to place your objects at equal distances between the lowest and highest value.

Felipe
09-19-2006, 06:13 PM
There is a script in netview called armymaker. Give it a try and tell us if it helped you.

Cheers

CGTalk Moderation
09-19-2006, 06:13 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.