PDA

View Full Version : modeling something...

diginime
09-18-2006, 07:08 AM
Hi guys, i jsut wonder about something. Hmm, i'm new to modeling. I saw some video training on modeling and i follow the tut and i can manage to finish the model. I learned the technique. But when i want to model other things, i can't model it. Why is this happen? Am i need for training or i don't know the concept of modeling? I'm going to vfs this October. I just wonder why is this happen..anyone had the same problem with me before?

ThomasMahler
09-18-2006, 07:48 AM
So, you know how to use a pencil... but does that make you a great draftsman? If all you've learned so far is the software side of things, then you've only learned one component - now you've got to train your eye, learn about forms, learn how to sculpt, learn how to draw. If you want to be a modeling artist as a profession, you should embrace the notion that you know how to use your tool and now it's 'just' about learning how to apply your artistic knowledge to it - Keep training, you'll get better. And don't just keep pushing vertices around, but try to learn how to really evaluate forms. Try to analyze things. If you do that, you'll see an improvement in your work in no time.

Kanga
09-18-2006, 09:25 AM
For the same reason you can't animate a bouncing ball and call yourself an animator. There are many different techniques for modelling objects because objects differ wildly in nature and end use.

I don't know of any application that has a modelling tutorial, they all have many tutes dealing with different basic objects to get you quickly up to speed with different approaches. Modelling is about problem solving and strategy as well as artistic skill in sculpting. Do some of the hundreds of tutorials available for every package and you will never ask this question again.

Nothing is instant. The more you model the greater the chance that the light will ingnite in your head and you will have your eureka moment.

Chris