PDA

View Full Version : attachments?


cakeypigdog
01-29-2003, 07:33 PM
hi can anyone help?
i have just attempted to post with a .jpeg file attatched...it was under the 30000 limit.
i dint get any error messages to say it had failed but when i looked at my post the image file was not there.
am i missing an easy trick?
i have just retried with several different images but none of them work!
cheers
jake

tonygib
02-07-2003, 09:48 AM
maybe try renaming the file .jpg.

though it may still be the file size, I just had to reduce my attachment down to 20,000 bytes.

anyone have a place that one can upload images too, since starting with cgtalk the limit has gone from 50,000 to 30,000 and now 20,000?

Leonard
02-07-2003, 10:04 PM
Hi,

I do apologise for the recent changes with attachments. We'd like to encourage as many artists as possible to set up their own web pages - not just for the sake of attachments, but for your own self-promotion.

Thanks

Leonard

tonygib
02-08-2003, 01:27 PM
Hay Leonard,

I have been thinking of a web site for a bit now, though till recently I really didn't have much to put on one anyway, party still don't. I guess the real problem is finding a little bit of free web space these days that doesn't have a mass of junk, pop-ups etc. O, and of course finding the time to make the site its self.

I have used the bit of web space that I get with my ISP, and while the 5MB is enough room for a basic site with a number of nice images, I only get 100MB transfer per month included, so I really have to watch how and when I use it so as not to blow the limit on a heavy forum.

Maybe when I have a bit more, I will do a site and look for some cheap (read unemployed, student) affordable hosting :)

thanks

Anthony

fandalis
03-11-2003, 10:37 AM
hi! you can try a redirect ;) . simply works
on my site :bounce:

fandalis
03-12-2003, 11:06 AM
;)

roromx
03-15-2003, 10:06 PM
Use a Yahoo-Geocities account!!

Good speed!

Only rename your images to .txt so you can post them here :buttrock:

fandalis
03-17-2003, 05:40 AM
yes, geocities then redirect from cjb.net. upload your files
at geocities then redirect from cjb.net. ;)

spirogyro
04-10-2003, 11:49 AM
Yeah i'm having the same problem, I can get a pic uploaded from my HD but by the time I chop it up It's toooo small. Can someone please post the way to post pics the right way?

coldcurrent
08-12-2003, 12:41 AM
i saw some of their work is also more than 20kb, but they can upload their work... y only we hav pro??
i thought is the wrong way i upload my file....???

Silverdog
10-06-2003, 06:44 AM
Hi,
I'm new to the forum, so I might as well add my confusion about
adding an image to a post. I have tried to add a car image to the
WIP forum and it is rejected for being over 20K. If I reduce pic to 20K, it is a thumbnail! Also, right clicking other's images on the forum and clicking 'properties', reveal image sizes well over 20K with many over 100K. I don't understand guys???

Great site, great forums

Ramon
10-07-2003, 10:51 PM
Yeah, I saw a post that is 2.3 mb in size! Why am I then, limited to 20k!?!? I can hardly fit anything into 20k.
Help!

Nestamonk
10-10-2003, 05:44 PM
Someone Please explain this. I've tried to post an image to the Car forum and its almost impossible to get an image below 2000k and have it look good. Besides half the images on there are double the size of mine. I guess I'll just keep posting on highend 3d with no problems. Can someone direct me into a way that I can basically create images below 2000k maybe 1k.

iayestaran
10-20-2003, 01:40 PM
Those pictures you're referring to are direct links to pictures on their specific web sites. you can post a picture bigger than the 20k alotted by putting a direct link to it ex:[*IMG]http://image.pbase.com/u30/iayestaran/large/18552600.mag5.jpg[*/IMG] but without the *
hope this helps! thanks Kirt!

Ramon
10-29-2003, 05:23 AM
Thanks Kirt! Yes, that does explain it much better. I appreciate the intruction. So, [*/IMG] at the end of the webpage URL is what causes the image to automatically appear here?

Thaks again?

iayestaran
10-29-2003, 12:12 PM
at the beggining as well as at the end of the url

Ramon
10-29-2003, 08:42 PM
Thanks again.

Turmata
11-07-2003, 01:57 PM
Why Link on a jpg Files uloaded on my FTP account Wanadoo.fr can't be displayed.....

iayestaran
11-07-2003, 02:00 PM
what's the url of the image you're trying to display?

smoluck
11-07-2003, 02:40 PM
http://perso.wanadoo.fr/smoluck/Forum/Play03-LD.jpg




http://perso.wanadoo.fr/smoluck/Forum/Play03-LD.jpg

iayestaran
11-07-2003, 02:42 PM
according to wanadoo those pages don't exist - that might be the problem you're having

Zycho
12-19-2003, 06:37 PM
Talking of attachments, I can't make one... When i try to post a reply or a thread, I haven't got the "Browse"-button to upload the image with... what should i do?

Ramon
12-19-2003, 07:00 PM
Hmm,... are you hitting the IMG button above the text input box?
When you hit that, it will give you a dialog box to place a url. Place the url that contains your image in there and it will automatically appear in your post without the miniscule 20k per image limitation.

Zycho
12-19-2003, 07:12 PM
That would mean that I have to have a webpage with my picture on it, right?? Well I haven't got a webpage now, but I'll se if I can't get a small one up and running soon, then...
If I want to attatch the picture (which I can't figure out how to do), then it has to be less than 20K in size, right? (My picture is about 500kb)

THX m8

Ramon
12-19-2003, 11:47 PM
Originally posted by Zycho
That would mean that I have to have a webpage with my picture on it, right?? Well I haven't got a webpage now, but I'll se if I can't get a small one up and running soon, then...
If I want to attatch the picture (which I can't figure out how to do), then it has to be less than 20K in size, right? (My picture is about 500kb)

THX m8
Yes if you post it to cgtalk, you'll have to limit it to 20k. Ouch.

LuWeeWu
01-30-2004, 07:05 PM
Im having the same problem with not being able to see a browse option to put an attachment. Why is that? I was able to put attachments before? For eny one whom might find this useful
The solution to posting a larger pic under the 20k limit is openig the picture in photoshop then go to the file menu and below the save feature there should be save for web click that and it should display for versions of the pic. To the right of all that there is a slider for quality. Play with it until the file is small enuff. If that still dont do the trick then look for a tab for image size on the right side ad try shrinking it down until its small enuff.and then save (but not over the original) and then post away.

This works most of the time but not all the time.

Hope this helps!:beer:

jutland
01-31-2004, 11:00 PM
It seems that I have joined this forum for no reason. I do not have the time to learn own to set up a web page. Nor do I have the $$ to pay someone to set one up for me. A s I am a student with LIMITED funds. I still trying to learn how to do 3D art. So if I can't post any images, there is no reason for me to be here.:cry:

inkyspot
04-11-2004, 07:29 PM
How do I post my work in progress? Can anyone help me?

perfecti
04-13-2004, 12:53 AM
... why i cant attach an image ...

in forum rules i have you may not post attachments .... can anyone help me ..??

silverflaime
04-14-2004, 09:06 AM
perfecti,

I have the same issue as you, and I can't figure it out either, but it's comforting to know that I'm not the only one who feels a little computer illiterate right now. I was hoping to find an answer here, guess I'll keep looking, and I'll let you know if I figure it out.

silverflaime
04-16-2004, 02:50 AM
For some reason, I can post images on only certain thread sections, i can do it in a bunch , but not 3D WIP's. Do I need a certain number of posts in that section or something? I really want to put a post, but I have really hit a brick wall! Any help would be invaluable!!!

Shaka_x
05-18-2004, 04:00 PM
Man,...thats my problem to, i dont have a atach image buton,....what the..........? i'm alowed only on some Threads, why is that?:hmm:

juantoo
05-20-2004, 12:17 PM
I just found out - the [/IMG] link to a website works, but it's case sensitive!

bonkanailios
05-26-2004, 04:06 AM
YARG!:argh:

I looked in the FAQ about how to post an image, but all it said was

to "click on the browse button" and I dont have a "browse button" anywhere
also at the bottom of the screen it says:

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

does this have anything to do with my inablility to find the browse button?

I already read this thread to the end, but if I missed somthing please tell me.

DaddyMack
05-29-2004, 01:05 PM
yup me too

Shaka_x
05-29-2004, 04:54 PM
this place is forgoten for dead, by the admin's........PLS HELP,......u lose something if u give us a hint?......why is so complicated to post,..... :shrug: we must be freekin' web masters, to figure out a way to post?

bonkanailios
05-29-2004, 06:47 PM
maybe its like in fightclub, where we have to wait on the porch for three days without food or drink.

except its in this forum instead of the porch and its for over a week....

no its not really like that at all.

but either way, could sombody plz at least post somthing helpfull on the subject and spare us New guys/girls alot of pain?

Digimatrix
06-03-2004, 12:59 PM
I have been 'waiting on the porch' for a while.

I thought it the right to post an image had something to do with post count.

appears not.

Then I thought that maybe it had something to do with my lack of avatar (you never know).... wrong again.


I know that it must be painfully obvious.... but at present I am running in a round room looking for a corner.

Shaka_x
06-03-2004, 01:16 PM
TAAA DAAA,.......help has arived:thumbsup: ,.....but is for the ones that dont have a web hosting at the moment,...this is a site with free hosting for pictures,.....and it gives u a link an it:beer: so good luck mates, www.imageshack.us


..............i use it on my thread>>http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=1359962#post1359962

bonkanailios
06-03-2004, 08:01 PM
THANKS!

Garma
06-03-2004, 08:46 PM
hm, personally I think posting (and image linking and posting attachments) couldn't be easier.

Who's attaching images anyway when there are such good free imagehosts around

check this one for example, its a true gem:

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=145834

LarsSon
06-11-2004, 01:02 PM
Hope this works!


http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/8590/ruisku.jpg[/IMG]

...and it did. Well imageshack and those kind of places are
really the first aid for me. :applause:

Bob27
06-12-2004, 12:46 PM
Just want to test:
http://www.studioexistence.com/ezafat/Dubai 02.jpg

Bob27
06-12-2004, 01:06 PM
Hi,
Let me try this with my own site:
http://www.studioexistence.com/ezafat/helmet-fin.jpg

http://www.studioexistence.com/ezafat/Helmet-c1.jpg

Bob27
06-13-2004, 12:16 PM
Trying this with Imageshack
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/6808/Applem.jpg

ahfatt
06-19-2004, 03:31 AM
test with Imageshack.

http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/7095/dumbbell.jpg

arona
06-24-2004, 07:53 PM
thanks for link. i tried freewebs.com but that was impossible.

thanks

mosconariz
06-26-2004, 01:20 AM
http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/3609/natu.jpg

Oh my! It does work!

bonkanailios
06-29-2004, 01:04 PM
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/934/nocoat.jpg

bonkanailios
06-29-2004, 01:05 PM
oh my sweet lord, IT FRAGGIN WORKED :eek:

Digimatrix
07-04-2004, 05:14 PM
My Dog, Beans:

http://img38.exs.cx/img38/8485/beanswrapped.jpg

The-13
07-10-2004, 04:18 PM
Hope this works finally...

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 08:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.