PDA

View Full Version : Batch rendering?


truecoz
09-11-2006, 09:32 PM
Hello all! I'm new to the forum but hardly new to Fusion. http://www.pigsfly.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif

When batch/network rendering, what is the best setting for a comp under preferences/memory/'render' frames? When I used to render on a single computer I'd put it to 10. Now batch/network rendering at work it seems setting memory/'render' to 1 is faster, because when I set it to 10, towards the end of rendering some of the render computers finish, while others are still trying to finish all 10 frames. When set 'render frames' to 1 it seems to spread the renders amongst the network better. Does this sound correct? http://www.pigsfly.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif

Chris Manabe http://www.pigsfly.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif
FX Artist/3D Animator
cramsite.com

izyk
09-15-2006, 01:59 PM
There is no simple answer to the question - it mostly depends on the composition. The key variables here are I/O and memory.

Increasing the frames at once can reduce what we call I/O latency, where Fusion is making no use of the CPU because it is waiting for footage to load before it can continue processing. Rendering multiple frames at once makes it far less likely that there will be nothing for the CPU to do.

Of course, the trade off is that each frame rendering simultaneously will consume memory that may be needed by the other tools.

Generally, the default of 2 is enough to buffer most I/O latency, while keeping memory use to a minimum. If you are working with 4K float plates, then you may find the memory use is more important than the latency, and set the frames at once to 1. For small super fast compositions, I often set the frames at once to 4.

If your primary interest is in parallelism through Network rendering, I usually suggest keeping the setting to 1 or 2 frames at once. This will ensure your render won't get hung up by the slowest machine on the network. However, keep in mind that slaves which finish the render will move on to the next job anyway, so the problem won't describe won't affect a long queue, it only affects situations where you are actively waiting for a composition to finish rendering.

CGTalk Moderation
09-15-2006, 01:59 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.