PDA

View Full Version : ZB to XSI expoding mesh

spj
09-06-2006, 02:37 PM
Hi,
I've been following along the XSI to ZB displacement guide pdf by Greg Punchatz.
I've managed to get good working results in the past, but this time I'm getting terrible results. As you can see from the image below its not pretty.
I've played around with settings under the geometry approximation as well as the material itself.(I should point out I'm new to XSI, particularly the texturing side of things)
The model is exported straight from ZB and I recorded and used the alpha depth factor from ZB.
I've tried replacing the red "R16" image exported from ZB, with the straight Black and White displacement. The results are a lot better but still not great. I may end up trying to get this map working instead, but I'd rather know what I'm doing wrong.
Do people tend to use the "R16" displacement maps instead of the BW displacements in XSI?
Does the "R16" image carry more information than the regular BW displacements and will this mean better quality from XSI? (seeing as the file is 3x bigger)
Another issue that may have caused problems is that the ZB model itself had one of those annoying stray points(you know the ones that shot out miles from the model) I've fixed that problem but I wonder if that is still causing problems some how.
Any help would be much appreiciated.
Cheers,
Sam

http://www.MyOnlineImages.com/Members/SPJ/images/XSI_ZB_issue.jpg (http://www.MyOnlineImages.com)

LemonNado
09-06-2006, 03:35 PM
Did you flip the texture? And R16 has empty G16 and B16 channels attached for your memory wasting pleasure. If you wish to be thorough... add an empty alpha channel!
Rainer

spj
09-07-2006, 01:36 AM
Thanks for your reply!
I don't think flipping the image was the problem.(I've made that mistake too many times before)