PDA

View Full Version : Normal map problems

j5ive
09-04-2006, 08:47 PM
I'm trying to normal map the face of a character and having probs, see attached the uv layout of the low poly face, and the resultant normal map. any ideas why the map is as it is,? I'm really stuck on this, this is my first attempt at normal mapping a character.

j5ive
09-04-2006, 09:30 PM
Any ideas??

iLegacy
09-04-2006, 09:33 PM
- HighPoly - Model cuts the LowPoly - Model?
- Invert normals at the LowPoly - Model?

Maybe it would help to post screenshots out of your scene and the used tools.

j5ive
09-04-2006, 09:51 PM
Ok, I'm using Maya 6.0 the transfer surface information. I have used pretty much all variables under the settings and still similar output. Heres the scene with the two heads apart.

BigErn
09-04-2006, 10:00 PM
Looks to me like the kind of wacky colours you get when the envelope you use is too big, so your env gets overlapped then makes a strange normal. If you have 1 mesh you might have to do the normals in parts, if some bits of the model need a big env size, like 3 and others just need 0.5. Then just combine them in PS. :thumbsup:

j5ive
09-04-2006, 10:04 PM
Thanks for the heads up, I reversed the normals on the low poly like suggested and it has worked to an extent, the map looks good, though it is very poorly lit now, is this normal? heres a rendered shot. Apologies for these remedial questions hopefully i'll have a better understanding of normal maps hereafter.

heres a render of what i have now with the normals reversed on the lower poly and map applied

iLegacy
09-04-2006, 10:04 PM
When i have such problems, i start testing with more simple objects like a sphere or something to get more information about the cause of the problem.

iLegacy
09-04-2006, 10:14 PM
To better understand normal maps read this normal-map-tutorial:

http://www.bencloward.com/resources_tutorials.shtml

and this:

http://www.poopinmymouth.com/tutorial/normal_workflow.htm

JYoung