PDA

View Full Version : Could you please tell me if this computer is "good"?


DDrake
01-27-2003, 06:38 PM
Hello!

Im trying to buy a good computer for smooth modelling experience and im veeery confused for the difference of prices between DELL and BOXX. I have configured those two systems on their respectives web pages with more or less the same capabilities (as far as i know... ). Could you please take a look at the specifications and tell me something about that price difference? what if i buy the dell? am i missing something?

THANKSS!!!!

THE DELL ONE:
Precision 650 SMT

Chipset Intel E7505
Double Memory DDR 266MHz ECC o no ECC Max 4GB
Chasis Minitower
3 huecos internos para discos duros + 1 hueco de 3,5 externo para un 4 disco
3 huecos externos de 5,25'' + 1 hueco de 3,5 para disquetera
Puertos:1 paralelo, 2 serie, 6 USB 2.0, 2 PS/2, 1 RJ45, AUDIO, 2 IEEE 1394A
Tarjeta de red integrada INTEL GIGABIT 10/100/1000 WUOL
Tarjeta de sonido integrada
5 slots PCI: 3PCIX 64BITS +2PCI 32 BITS
1 slot AGP PRO 110 8X
Ultra ATA 100 integrado para discos EIDE
SCSI ULTRA 320 con RAID 0 integrado
3 years warranty
Hyperthreading
Dual Xeon a 2.66 / 512 de Cache
floppy (_!)
1Gb Ram top modules
Hd de 40Gb 7200
Nvidia Quadro 4 900 XGL Dual Monitor
Monitor de 17" (i own a 19")

4,455.0060$


DVD/CDRW

THE BOXX ONE:

Dual Xeon 2,8 512cache / 533Mhz FSB
Hyper-Threading Enabled
Intel E7505 Chipset
1Gb Ram PC2100 ECC Reg DDR (2-512)
NVIDIA Quadro4 980 XGL 128 8X AGP
36Gb 7200RPM
Dual-Channel Ultra320 SCSI Controller
Dual-Channel UltraDMA 100 IDE Controller
Integrated AC 97 full duplex audio
(1) 64/133 PCI-X Slot
(2) 64/100 PCI-X Slots
(2) 32/33 PCI Slots
Onboard Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
(4) USB 2.0 Ports: (2) Front, (2) Rear
(4) 3.5" x 1" Internal Hard Drive Bays
(3) 3.5" Exposed Drive Bays
(2) 5.25" Exposed Drive Bays
460W Power Supply
(2) 92MM, (1) 80MM Cooling Fans
1.44MB Floppy Drive
Tower Chassis (Optional 4U Rackmount Kit)
Physical Dimensions: 7.0"W x 17.0"H x 17.5"D

4807$ (dont know if taxes are included)


Notice that the BOXX cames without monitor...

GregHess
01-27-2003, 07:07 PM
You can get the boxx system without scsi, which lowers the price.

The boxx system is also running 200 megahertz faster per cpu then the Dell one.

The boxx system is also using the newer Quadro 980 XL (8X AGP) vs the older 900 XL offered by the Dell.

Having worked with both Dell and Boxx workstations, I'd have to say there isn't really a comparison. The Boxx systems are superior in every aspect. Performance, noise level, support, and upgradability.

Thats just my opinon though.

DDrake
01-27-2003, 08:38 PM
so... the best option is a BOXX? i mean, the proffesionals choice.

Joel Hooks
01-27-2003, 10:09 PM
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=31798

The old Boxx v. Dell thread.

I Think if you knock the SCSI off the Boxx and went for the AMD chipset you'd beat the Dell price and end up with a better machine. The Boxx is not including a monitor, but the 17" you swelected in the dell will not be a big expense. I imagine if you are shipping to spain you'd want to buy one locally anyway.

ecjc97
01-27-2003, 11:45 PM
When we needed monitors with our systems BOXX sent us to monitorsdirect.com. Pretty good price as far as I'm concerned.

coupe333
01-28-2003, 12:21 AM
Do you know if Boxx ships in europe?..
Thanks in advance!

DDrake
01-28-2003, 12:35 AM
well, i did not think in AMD because a lot of people has told me that they could be a problem if the cooling does not work correctly. I do not want to have problems with a machine im going to pay with almost all my blood :P

I own a 19" monitor, so the second one would only be used as a plus, so for me that is not so much important.

After reading the thread about BOXX vs. Dell, i think i will buy a BOXX. They seem to be much more capable and since it is going to be a very big outlay, i want to be sure i have something robust.

Thanks for your replies :D

PD: I hope they ship in Spain :P

MadMax
01-28-2003, 12:42 AM
Originally posted by DDrake
well, i did not think in AMD because a lot of people has told me that they could be a problem if the cooling does not work correctly. I do not want to have problems with a machine im going to pay with almost all my blood :P


I'm pretty sure all the Athlons offered by BoXX are thermal protection that shut down in case of fan failure.

In 3 years of using Athlons, I have never once fried any of the dozens of systems I have built for myself.

The fairy tales people tell about athlons happen to maybe 1 user in a few thousand.

DDrake
01-28-2003, 12:54 AM
and what about that called Hyperthreading? is that so good so an Intel beats an AMD?

Is there any issues i should know about dual AMDs?

EDIT: Is SCSI so important or a 7200rpm would work?

MadMax
01-28-2003, 01:09 AM
Originally posted by DDrake
and what about that called Hyperthreading? is that so good so an Intel beats an AMD?

Is there any issues i should know about dual AMDs?

Honestly I chose AMD over Intel for a number of reasons. Cost certainly was a big one.

As for HT, I am not seeing any real world benefits from it at this point.

There really are not anything much in the way of "issues" that would keep me from getting Dual AMD's. I own several. Currently running with the latest 2400MP's which are going to be obsolete in about 2 weeks as the new Barton 2500MP's with 512k cache are released.

If I had a stack of money in hand and a choice between dual Intel and Dual AMD, I would not hesitate to go AMD.

Intel is more expensive, but the do have "faster" mhz. But AMD has much Higher IPC's than Intel does, which really does drastically alter the end results.

DDrake
01-28-2003, 01:25 AM
im considering AMD as well :) thanks for your replies.

Sorry for my ignorance, but , what is IPC? (you told :But AMD has much Higher IPC's than Intel does, which really does drastically alter the end results.)

oh, another quick question, What is the difference between

1GB PC2100 ECC Reg DDR (2- 512MB DIMMS)
1GB 800MHz ECC RDRAM (2 - 512MB RIMMS)

?

GregHess
01-28-2003, 01:31 AM
One is DDR, one is rambus. Do a search for Rambus and DDR in this forum.

DDrake
01-28-2003, 01:39 AM
umm, im searching right now. thanks :D

sorry, the last quick question. If i buy a system that is only AGP4x capable, and i configure a 8x graphic card... is that wrong? is the card going to be not used at its full power?

DDrake
01-28-2003, 02:13 AM
Umm, after some searching i have found this one a very interesting choice:

3DBOXX R3i

Windows XP Professional Edition 1
Dual Athlon MP Processor Model 2000+ 1
1024MB PC2100 Registered ECC DDR 1
NVIDIA Quadro4 900 XGL 128MB 4X AGP 1
40GB 7200 rpm ATA133 hard drive 1
Black 104 key keyboard 1
52X IDE CD ROM 1
Soundblaster PCI 128 1
3 Button Kensington PS2 Mouse 1

*Total Price: $3,713.00

It is a good one i think, and after reading tons of threads, the best conclussion i have is that the hardware in this field changes as in the game hardware field and expending more and more money in little things like SCSI or Wildcats is only for rich people :P

What confuses me now is the AGP 4x and 8x. Is so much the difference?

I have read something about some delaying (2 or 3 seconds) when switching between applications in a Dual Athlon, and some posts later, the same for an Intel... anyone can throw some light on that?

Thanks everyone for you GOOD help!

PD: And excuse me for my poor english...

MadMax
01-28-2003, 02:19 AM
IPC = Instructions per Cycle.

At the moment 8x AGP doesn't mean much. You won't be able to tell the difference.

Northchild
01-28-2003, 04:48 AM
Let me make sure I'm clear: this is $4000.00 US that you're looking at spending and it's only buying one PC and I don't see a 21 inch monitor and the hard drive size doesn't go over 40 GB? Forgive me because I'm coming from a non-professional background here, but am I missing something? :shrug:

Gyan
01-28-2003, 05:32 AM
Originally posted by DDrake
Im trying to buy a good computer for smooth modelling experience

THE DELL ONE:

4,455.0060$

THE BOXX ONE:

4807$



Can you find a local reseller/assembler in Spain ?
If so, get it assembled there.

You will get a much better system for a _lot_ less.

Look for a reseller who's willing to provide warranty services if not support.

Since you want to model, pay most attention to video card, monitor, RAM & processor. The rest can be balanced within your budget.

vizion
01-28-2003, 05:35 AM
I totally agree with u Northchild..For a mere $2000
us, you could configure a double amd with some very nice features.. Forego the $1000 pricetag for the 980 xgl, and save at least $500 by getting the 750 xgl.

GregHess
01-28-2003, 06:35 AM
Vizion,

There was a massive price cut on the older Quadro cards. The 980XL is only around 550 USD now, with the 900XL going for around 490-500 USD.

Check www.pricewatch.com to see how some of the cuts affected the other cards in the states.

DDrake
01-28-2003, 08:01 AM
NorthChild: I own a 19" LG and it serves to me veeery good. I have seen my friends monitor die in two or 3 years, and mine works as the first day. I think it is a great one, so i do not want to throw it away :D It is an LG Studioworks 995E
About the HD, what i want is speed, not size. I own 40 gb in two older hds and an external 20Gb one (Lacie Firewire, a present :P) and those are enough for me to storage. I want a faster hard disk much more than a biggg hard disk :D

After some more investigations, i have found a reseller in Spain. Not BOXX (awaiting for a response from him) but they are official distributors of 3DLabs (http://www.azken.com if anyone is interested). I have seen there veeery good machines for veeery lows prices (well, low in the high). Im waiting for a response if i could buy an Azken machine without monitor and Graphic card. I own a GFti4400 wich was going to be on this (the one i actually use) computer so i could work with two at the same time, but im not sure if i want to put it appart being so powerfull. I could buy an ATI or old Quadro for this computer and do the job. (I hope this makes sense, excuse me for my poor english).

Thanks for your appreciable help!

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.